A Cute Little Girl — A Short Story!

Muhammad Saad
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
2 min readApr 16, 2024

A captivating story reflecting the forgotten trait of human beings.

Photo by Bing AI

Today I was standing on the roadside. There was a very cute little girl standing in front of me aged between 5 and 6. We were waiting for the signal to turn green so that we could cross the road. The sunshine was at its peak. To be honest, I like it when the sun rises with its full glory and splendor. The girl was holding the wire that emerged from the pole and entered the ground.

I didn't know who she was or where she came from, but all I knew was that she was waiting to cross the road. She was wearing a white shirt with a blue skirt, a blue barrette on her head, and a dark brown watch. She looked like a doll from heaven. Her cuteness had stolen my heart. The subtle wave of wind was disturbing a single strand of her hair intermittently.

I stepped forward and leaned in to talk to her and said, “Hi, sweetie. How are you?”

“Hey Uncle, I'm fine. What about you?” she replied with a smile.

“I am good too. Sweetie, don't you know that electricity runs through the wires? It gives a shock to the person if the insulation is absent at some point,” I said.

“I know, but I am wearing gloves, that's why I am holding it,” she said in an infantile manner.

“Baby, but precaution is better. Isn't it?” I said.

“Yes, it is,” she replied.

“So, please remove your hand from the wire,” I said in a very lovely manner.

I was so shocked to see that she instantly removed her hand from the wire, came back, and stood with me. You know why I was shocked? I was shocked because she understood what I said on the first attempt. I thought this trait was eliminated from the genes of species Homo Sapiens. I was staring at her like an honored father whose daughter is obeying him.

I was thinking that nowadays when I tell others about the things they are doing wrong and my only purpose is to reform them, they get angry and upset with me. I don't know from where this quality originated, but I do know that nowadays people have become so selfish and full of ego that they are not even ready to accept their mistakes.

Now, reformation feels like an evil act to me due to people's response to it. There was a time when people used to express gratitude when somebody rehabilitated them, but now they express only anger. How sad, isn't it?

However, the signal turned green. I followed her; she knocked on someone’s door, I think it was her home; someone opened the door, she entered, and I left for the office.

--

--

Muhammad Saad
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

I don't know how to enclose 19 chapters of my life into a short bio, but I do know that I love to write, and I hope so, you love to read.