A Little Extra Flavor Goes a Long Way

What I learned from eating ice cream

Kasun Ranasinghe
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

--

Image by greenthemoon from Pixabay

I love ice cream!

The subtle sting of the cold as it touches your lips,
The creamy texture as it melts in your mouth,
The way the taste takes you away to a winter wonderland with every bite…

I could go on and on about my love for ice cream. But there has always been something that bothered me. Why were there so many flavors and toppings for this dairy delight?

Ice cream is ice cream

I have always been a plain vanilla ice cream type of guy. I have never been to those custom ice cream shops where they sell rocky road, marshmallow fudge, caramel, and all the other flavors under the sun. Ice cream is ice cream. Why taint it with nuts, berries, and syrup?

I like it plain, simple, and without distractions. And frankly, the fancy flavors seem unnecessary and overpriced. I mean, why spend so much for just a few scoops when you can buy an entire tub of store-brand ice cream at the grocery store? It just didn’t make any sense, until the day I took a risk and added a little extra flavor to my dessert.

The mundane routine

--

--