A Satirical Yet Serious Indictment of the Three Major Credit Reporting Agencies

Grading Experian’s response to my CFPB complaint using Grammarly

Mark Scofield
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

--

Photo of MasterCard, Visa, and American Express

My credit history disappears at the most inopportune time.

My motivation for digging into the reliability of our credit scores as given by the three big credit reporting agencies -Experian, Equifax, and Transunion, happened when after attempting to secure an auto loan for a used car, I discovered that my credit score had fallen from 700 to 0 overnight.

At least, Creditkarma reported it as zero. My actual credit score could have been more accurately called “N/A”, non-existent, or no credit. It might as well have been zero as I had less chance of getting approved for anything than someone with the lowest possible FICO score of 300.

There is no way to dispute this with the agencies.

They will not reinstate your credit history after it has been erased. This is how they penalize easily creditworthy people who don’t play their game. The same thing happens all the time to people who long ago paid off all their bills, living debt-free:

--

--

Mark Scofield
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Coming out of the shadows. No more pseudonym. Humans are designed to fail. I'm Exhibit A. Often writing semi-fictional history and autobiographical stories.