All the people who didn’t “fit” in

Mood Palette
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
2 min readMay 16, 2024

Story time.

In school, I was a very academically inclined kid loved by all the teachers. And was praised constantly.

I raised my hand to all the questions, answered everything promptly and was very active in co-curricular activities.

Photo by Luke Leung on Unsplash

But I didn’t exactly fit among my peers. I was never invited to anything, I used to sit alone because nobody wanted to be a friend of mine. I remember sitting alone and crying because nobody wanted me around.

I wasn’t rude or arrogant, I was always ready to help. But, that didn’t matter much. Being “nice” wasn’t enough. I ate lunches alone, thinking what’s wrong with me.

I became a people pleaser in quest of finding a friends. Wasn’t of much success though.

Now, I have a well-paid job and I feel proud of myself for reaching here. But that people pleaser in me still wanted to fit in, still she wanted to have friends.

I recently came to the realisation that “I can be a sad people-pleaser trying to fit in, or I can be a happy loner.” Having friends is great, but I cannot force people to like me. Now, I want to go with the flow, rather than trying to force them into liking me.

If you have read so far, maybe you relate with my story. You and me, we both need to start trusting the process and work on ourselves. Genuine connections can never be forced. We ought to find happiness within ourselves.

--

--