Are People Leaving Medium?

Megs
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
2 min readJul 26, 2024
Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash

I had a dream last night that there was this huge new and cool writing website that offered FAR better deals and methods than Medium, and everyone was over there now. When I woke up and it wasn’t real, I was a little sad!

The past week or two I feel like I’ve seen far less traffic moving through the website.

As well though- I’ve been hearing a whole lot more about Substack. It’s been popping up everywhere to me, in Mediums place.

Is this change sudden and real, or just part of the flow of the internet?

Are people already bored with the website now that the summer deal on the membership will be ending soon? Did they already expend all their energy after buying it?

I’m really not sure, honestly, but the people seriously went somewhere.

I like Medium, I really do! It’s got it’s own little community and culture that I find interesting, but is it doomed to be abandoned?

If I’m being real here- probably. Things aren’t as intuitive as advertised on this website, and I can see why people would shift around and try other things. I can see why the traffic has slowed down.

Of course though, again, this is probably just the normal flow of the internet. The normal flow of literally any website.

I’m sure a flock of new people will show up soon enough and jump start the cycle again- as with every website. People come and go until they find what the love, it’s to be expected!

Maybe Medium needs to advertise better?

Or, maybe we need to advertise Medium!

Either way, I do hope this website isn’t doomed to fail. It hasn’t even been around that long, and I want good things for it.

To all the people who are asking these same questions, at least I’m here, writing nonsense and whatever pops up in my head.

And as always, those same like three pro people that consistently get on the trending home feed with every post. Great job to those folks, and let’s just keep Medium moving!

--

--