Celebrate This Full Moon

By listing your holy sites and holy sights

Moonmoth LeMavely
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

--

Photo by Ganapathy Kumar on Unsplash

What is your Home River?

Mine was the Huron River when I lived in Michigan for the first 46 years of my life. It meandered through the neighboring counties, and right through the center of Ann Arbor, where we would take our kids to hike the trails that ran alongside it at Barton Park.

Now that I live in Nevada, my home river is the Truckee. It flows east from Lake Tahoe to Pyramid Lake. It runs right through downtown Reno, providing unusual birds with a place to nest and hunt. I’ve seen Cormorants, Mergansers, and Black-Crowned Night Herons on the river.

What is your Home Hill?

Mine was Mt. Brighton in Michigan. It is a dirt pile formed during the construction of the nearby highway. It’s now a Vail ski resort where many people we know have learned to ski and snowboard. When I met my husband, he was a ski instructor at Mt. Brighton. Many community events have been held at the restaurant that overlooks the hill.

Now my home hill is Peavine Peak, which can be seen from our driveway. It is a foothill of the Sierra Nevadas. We hike the hills around the peak all the time. When seen from afar, the views of Peavine can be quite astonishing.

--

--