ChatGPT-4o Sounds Like Scarlett Johansson. Let’s Talk About Her.

Lite
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readMay 23, 2024

What Really Happened?

On May 13th, 2024, OpenAI had its Spring Update to introduce its new flagship model, the ChatGPT-4o, which is now capable of having conversations and talking with a voice model called “Sky.” Many users (such as yours truly) noted the similarities in the voice of “Sky” and Scarlett Johansson, with Saturday Night Live even joking about it.

This came to the attention of the actress herself, who issued a statement, which led to OpenAI to take down the voice model, though claiming that there were no similarities, and it is simply a natural voice of an another voice actor. She revealed that Sam Altman (CEO), wanted to hire her to voice the ChatGPT-4o voice model, which she declined. The more shocking development was when Altman tweeted not so subtly that the similarity was intentional, with him tweeting “her”, a film which she voiced a chat system, Samantha.

Photo by Lenin Estrada on Unsplash

What Scarlett Johansson Said:

Last September, I received an offer from Sam Altman, who wanted to hire me to voice the current ChatGPT 4.0 system. He told me that he felt that by my voicing the system, I could bridge the gap between tech companies and creatives and help consumers to feel comfortable with the seismic shift concerning humans and Al. He said he felt that my voice would be comforting to people.

After much consideration and for personal reasons, I declined the offer.

Nine months later, my friends, family and the general public all noted how much the newest system named ‘Sky’ sounded like me.

When I heard the released demo, I was shocked, angered and in disbelief that Mr. Altman would pursue a voice that sounded so eerily similar to mine that my closest friends and news outlets could not tell the difference. Mr. Altman even insinuated that the similarity was intentional, tweeting a single word ‘her’ — a reference to the film in which I voiced a chat system, Samantha, who forms an intimate relationship with a human.

Two days before the ChatGPT 4.0 demo was released, Mr. Altman contacted my agent, asking me to reconsider. Before we could connect, the system was out there.

As a result of their actions, I was forced to hire legal counsel, who wrote two letters to Mr. Altman and OpenAl, setting out what they had done and asking them to detail the exact process by which they created the ‘Sky’ voice. Consequently, OpenAl reluctantly agreed to take down the ‘Sky’ voice.

In a time when we are all grappling with deepfakes and the protection of our own likeness, our own work, our own identities, I believe these are questions that deserve absolute clarity. I look forward to resolution in the form of transparency and the passage of appropriate legislation to help ensure that individual rights are protected.

This is Incredibly Concerning for One Reason AKA What the Hell?

Note the last paragraph, wherein she says that in this era of deepfakes and protection of our own likeness/work/identities, that a passage of appropriate legislation is needed. I completely agree with her statement, especially considering this happened after the ending of the SAG-AFTRA strike. In fact, the organization issued a statement that seconds her call for legislation in this area.

Usually its random people on the internet who replicate voices/faces for scams and such, but the fact that it was a FRICKING CEO OF A COMPANY is just concerning and mind-blowing. Once again, there definitely needs to be a legislation regarding AI, for which the EU has released a framework (wait for my new post).

Honestly…

While Scarlett Johansson has not yet issued a legal case of sorts to OpenAI, I would completely understand if she does, and honestly, since this was done without consent, she should probably issue a case.

Hope you learned something from this article, the source came from the Verge, Variety, and Perplexity. Wait for my new article on the EU’s new AI Framework, and thanks.

--

--

Lite
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Self-Improvement | Tech | Pop-Culture | ✨ Follow For Posts From A Chill Dude