Cracked Cocoon

A flash fiction story.

--

A messy bed
Photo by Daria Shevtsova from Pexels

I coil next to his wet body, sweat sliding down the inner side of my thighs. The hotel sheets snapped off, forcing us into a cocoon as we rest. On my side, staring at the outline of his back, watching the rise and fall under the glow of the muted 56-inch television.

Where did his love lay?

The question trailing me like a lost puppy. The answer hidden deep to the point of extinction. He jerks awake, rising from the mess, exposing the sins from the night. The moment lost as I slide my wedding ring back in its resting space.

Like Flash Fiction? Enjoy my other stories:

@2021 Ellie Jacobson

--

--

Ellie Jacobson
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Editor at Flash Fiction Magazine & Intrepidus Ink | Flint & Steel editor | MFA candidate working on first novel | mom to 2 kitties, 2 teenage sons & many cats