Dear Wine, I Miss You

Sujona Chatterjee
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
2 min readMar 17, 2021

A poem

Photo by Diogo Brandao on Unsplash

Dear wine, I miss you,
I am sure you miss me too.
When you were poured for me on a Friday night,
In a glass tall and sparkling as you.

Dear wine, I miss you,
When you accompanied me and my girlfriends.
In a bar gushing over office gossip,
And life and its forever troubles.

Dear wine, I miss you,
When you helped me shed my inhibitions.
When getting on the dance floor was a task,
And you made me feel nothing is impossible if I only asked.

Dear wine, I miss you,
As you were an excuse to dress up.
On a weekend and enjoy the ambience,
As now Fridays are spent in four walls.

Dear wine, I know,
That you are freely available.
But you and I know it’s not the same,
As now we meet at home rather than a pub or lounge.

Dear wine, I miss you,
But promise me you will never forget.
The laughter and the cries we shared,
When everyone was too busy to care.

Dear wine, we will unite,
And then you won’t miss me as I miss you.
It may take some time and that will give you time,
To age and be evergreen like a world heritage listed in UNESCO.

--

--