Discovering Invaluable Lessons from Bike Riding in the Netherlands

Ashley Tavares
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
4 min readAug 9, 2023

--

Pedaling Through Dutch Wonders

Photo by MIHXI on Unsplash

Did you know it's possible to bike in heavy rain and still enjoy it? Well, I did, and I never thought being soaking wet and sprinting back to the hotel would give me so many giggles and fun memories to look back on. I've been in the Netherlands for a little over two weeks now, and for the first time in years, I've used a bike to get around and work out, as I will never do again. Why? I'll explain myself in a bit.

I'm in the Eindhoven area for work, and maybe like many of you, I thought the Netherlands was defined by Amsterdam and the tulips in the Spring time and nothing else. I've learned that that's not true, and there are far more beautiful places to see than just Amsterdam.

Eindhoven is mainly the home place of Philips. Philips himself made the first Philips lightbulb right here. Van Gogh painted the starry night in a farm area near where I'm staying. And bikes here can take you anywhere where a car usually would go, and better yet, to places a car could never go.

Bikes here are the number one means of transportation. There's not one street without an individual bike lane or at least a differentiation on the road with the cars. Besides this, bikers have their traffic lights and signs, and we have public lighting alongside…

--

--

Ashley Tavares
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

World traveler and content creator. Writing about solopreneur endeavors, traveling and digital nomad lifestyle, and how to boost your online presence!