Disgrace To The Family: A Personal Letter for All The Black Sheep

Let’s stand out together, be alone together.

Rozel Chang
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

--

Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Trigger warnings include: Cutting ties with family and mental illness.

Dear my fellow black sheep:

I understand the nights when you can’t fall asleep; maybe it was the fighting next room keeping you awake, maybe your heart is still racing from the argument you just had, or maybe the words that hurt you are still lingering.

There is no comparison. It’s not a competition to see who’s had it worse. You’re tired, and we’re tired. Sometimes, I wish finding a place that welcomes us doesn’t have to be challenging. But here we are.

I was never close with my family, perhaps when I was a kid, but the good memories never stick like the bad ones, and no one, at least not me, would recognize the place where you grew up as something toxic or harmful, the house was your home, and the home was your world.

I can list everything that separated me from my family and what darkened my wool; I am the only gay person in the family, the first to leave the house, the only one who got a degree, and the only one who’s gone and never looked back.

It’s kind of like the ageless question; I couldn’t quite pinpoint whether it was the fact…

--

--

Rozel Chang
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Freelance writer/translator. Taiwanese. I write about all the crazy stories that happened in my 24 years on Earth. Open to gigs: changrozel@gmail.com