Don’t Let Your Loneliness Make You Reconnect with Toxic People

Don’t drink poison just because you’re thirsty.

The Nerds
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readApr 5, 2024

--

Photo by Warren on Unsplash

An awesome quote by Jay Shetty —

Don’t let your loneliness make you reconnect with toxic people. Don’t drink poison just because you’re thirsty.

This quote hits hard and is absolutely true because:

It doesn’t make any sense to add nonsense people in your life just because you’re lonely.

It’s better to be alone than dragging toxic relationships.

Because relationships don’t just mean to chill together, in the long run it affects you a lot.

It can make a huge impact on how you experience the world. They can depress you, and even, keep you away from healing and growing. It can lead you to have a victim or a fixed mindset.

That’s why you need to choose your relationships wisely, because if you do, you can have numerous benefits. I can even list some benefits, which I’ve felt from my relationships:

  1. Gained confidence and overcame a lot of insecurities, the one who helped me for this is my best friend (Praful)
  2. One of my friend, Harshika, she helps me solve many of my life problems.
  3. I feel happy when I talk with Yash, even he helps me de- stress myself and solves many of my problems.
  4. I have a friend (Avuma) who helps me growing on Medium and my writing journey.
  5. I have a friend (Jaladhi) who helps me become bold and loud.

And, that’s it.

Yes that’s it, just 5 friends.

But quality always wins quantity.

My friends have never made me feel insecure or became an hindrance to my growth, instead, they’ve always encouraged me and made me feel good about myself…

And you will not believe it, I most of the time, remain alone with myself. Why?

Harshika is in other section of my class. Jaladhi doesn’t sit with me in the class, because you know teachers. Yash left the school, and so it’s just online talking… And the other two friends I made was online.

So, in reality, I remain alone in the offline world, and I love my own company. I think of our good moments, I enjoy drawing, writing, walking etc….

I love to be myself alone (you know introverts)

But, the thing is “I have chosen my friends wisely and they are less, but still valuable and more….)”

On the other hand, when you’ve toxic relationships, you kinda more of have friends that:

  • hinders your growth
  • makes you feel insecure
  • decreases your confidence
  • drains your energy in fights and small issues….

So, if you’re lonely, it doesn’t mean that you connect with toxic people.

Instead it’s a golden chance for you to connect with yourself and make friends:

  • that are meaningful to you,
  • adds value in your life,
  • gives you energy and
  • help you grow

If you choose your friends wisely, you will avoid a lot of relationship problems, you will not drain your energy fighting over small issues, instead you both will help each other solve problems…..

Trust me! It will be worth it.

Choose your friends wisely.

--

--

The Nerds
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Hi, I'm a nerd. I'm passionate about self-improvement, tackling topper insecurities, and sharing my love for books.