Don’t Make Freelancing Your End Goal (Here’s Where The Real Money Is)

Jay
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readMar 14, 2024
Made on imgflip

Freelancing is great, but it's not smart.

Yeah, you get to choose clients, get paid monthly retainers, and learn in different niches. On top of that, you can work from wherever you are with that sweet Wi-Fi money. But you’re still performing a service that takes time and energy — two things we yearn the most as we age…

The last thing you want is to be at the ripe age of 68 and still depend on clients as your main source of income. Not only will you not have the energy but you’ll also feel like you're wasting your life.

By that time the only thing that you should worry about is enjoyment.

Freelancing is only your short-term commitment

It’s not as bad as I previously mentioned

Though freelancing isn’t the best place to make the majority of your money, it's definitely not a bad place to start. Freelancing is amazing for beginners who have less funds and more time.

It's also the best time to find out what you enjoy because freelancing can be matched with any type of skill. I started doing freelance copywriting because I was interested in writing human psychology, which allowed me to work with consultants. By working with consults I learned more about the topics that interested me while practicing my skill. That made freelancing the best start for me. Which is also how you can start your own business and expand over time.

By choosing my skill and my client I was able to not only practice that skill but also keep myself interested in my work. On top of that, I get to work from wherever I want, which is godsent as a student-entrepreneur. In fact, I think freelancing may be the best place to start.

Starting with freelancing gives you skills, experience, and freedom.

Freelancing is great for beginners, but what about when you’re experienced?

The more skilled you become the more your time is worth.

As you increase your skills, you’ll be able to charge more for projects. But that also means lengthy work sessions and complicated processes.

And when you’re already settled in with a stable income, the last thing you’d want is to add more to your plate. I’ve had a few friends go through this and all of them ended up stopping their freelancing business in favor of something else. Either they started an agency, went into investing, or deviated into a completely different business model. Freelancing ended up just being a foot into the door. But that foot is enough to catalyze a big change in your life.

By expanding either vertically or horizontally you set yourself up for more success than freelancing alone could ever give. On top of that, you’ll retain even more location and time freedom than you’ve ever had. This is why, once again, freelancing is only the first step.

Though freelancing may be the smartest first choice, it isn’t the end goal.

Here are a few things you can do instead

The next step is always expansion.

You can either expand your profits with money or time. Spending money is always better and it usually leads to better results — while also saving your time.

Using money as a catalyst can mean several different things. You can create an agency and automate it by hiring employees in different districts or you can stop the business and go into the stock market/crypto. Most generational wealth made globally was made through the mass economy — and by participating it you can make a share of that wealth. Using money as a catalyst means more free time. More free time means being able to live the life you want without the stress of work.

A stress-free life is the goal you’ve wanted since you began. But the only way you’ll get it is not by working harder, but by rather working smarter and using the resources you’ve gained. These resources tend to be the money you’ve made from the time you spent early on.

The rewards of hard work speed up the process by which you can escape it.

Thanks for reading!

If you enjoyed checking out my newsletter.

--

--

Jay
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

I'm Jay. My dream? To become the greatest marketer of my generation - while also indulging on my interests.