From Burnout to Balance: My Recipe for Reclaiming My Energy and Building a Sustainable Life.

The Alarm Rings…I Hit Snooze, bleep, bleep bleep.

Ruwithma Peiris
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
6 min readJan 28, 2024

--

My alarm blares, jolting me out of a deep sleep. I squint one eye open and see that it’s 7 AM already. “Ugh 5 more minutes,” I groan as I slap the snooze button.

As I dozed off, I dreamed of frantically running around campus to get to class on time. But no matter how fast I run, my body feels heavy, and I don’t seem to make any progress. Suddenly, I trip and faceplant on the concrete.

Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

I jolt awake again, my heart racing as the alarm resumes its noisy attack on my eardrums. The snooze time is up. I force myself out of bed, rubbing my eyes and trying to shake the stress of that dream.

Another day in the life of an overwhelmed, overworked, underslept college student. Sigh.

As I zombie-walk to class in last night’s clothes, I pass a girl happily chatting with her friends on the quad. I feel lonely and make a mental note to reach out to some old friends soon.

My days blur together lately — classes, clubs, work, rinse, repeat. The same routine day after day, only pausing to cram for exams, pull all-nighters to finish projects, or guzzle more coffee.

I can barely remember the last time I did something for fun. When was the last time you did something just because you wanted to? Not because you had to.

Photo by Jeffrey Keenan on Unsplash

The Aftermath Feeling Burnt Out

Lately, I’ve noticed some unpleasant changes. I feel anxious and irritable all the time. I have trouble concentrating, even on things I used to enjoy. I’ve lost interest in my hobbies and feel down often.

I used to be curious and engaged in class. Now, I feel detached and struggle through each lecture, unable to focus. My grades have slipped below my usual standards. At this rate, I might even fail a class or two.

The other day, I cried in my dorm room for no reason. That’s when it hit me — something is wrong here. This isn’t normal or healthy.

I realized I was completely burnt out from pushing myself too hard for too long without giving myself a chance to rest and recharge properly.

Have you ever felt burnt out before? Share your stories and advice in the comments!

The Breaking Point, Time for a Change

That breakdown was the wake-up call I needed. I can’t keep living like this. Something has to change.

I thought back on when things started feeling off. I used to have fun in college! What changed? Where did my motivation and excitement go?

I realized I’d taken on too much. I packed my schedule with every resume-padding activity under the sun. I strived for perfect grades in all my difficult classes. I took on leadership roles in multiple clubs. I got an off-campus job on top of it all.

I left no time for myself or my mental health. I burnt myself out by constantly doing doing doing without coming up for air.

Have you packed too much onto your plate before? Did you have a “breaking point” like I did?

“Your mind can only handle so much before it starts to deteriorate under the weight of overuse.” — Marielle Cornes

My Plan (It’s Time to Find Balance)

I knew I needed to regain balance in my life. Something had to give. I came up with a plan to reclaim my time, energy, and happiness:

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

1. Let some things go

I took stock of all my commitments and cut back on anything nonessential. I quit my job to open up more free time. I also decided to wait to run for leadership again in two clubs. Though it was hard, I knew I needed to lighten my load.

2. Practice self-care

I started going to bed earlier and sleeping in when I could. I made time for healthy meals instead of always grabbing fast food on the run. I worked out three times a week — nothing crazy, just getting my body moving. I also started journaling to process my feelings rather than bottling them up.

3. Have fun again

I penciled in “fun time” blocks in my calendar for things like movie nights with friends or weekend activities to give me something to look forward to. I’d forgotten how vital it is to do something to enjoy it!

What are your best tips for finding balance and avoiding burnout? How do you make self-care a priority?

Back to My Old Self, The Payoff

Photo by Tom Allport on Unsplash

It’s been about two months since I committed to cutting back and finding balance. I am happy to report that it worked!

These days, I feel more like my old self — purposeful, cheerful, and back to seeing the bright side of things.

My mood and motivation are way up. I jump out of bed feeling well-rested and ready to take on the day. I can concentrate again and absorb what I’m learning. I aced my last two exams!

I have more energy since I’m sleeping enough and fueling my body correctly. I made time for fun with friends, like getting frozen yogurt or checking out a new cafe. I’d forgotten how much those little adventures lift my spirits.

By letting go of what wasn’t serving me anymore and making self-care a regular habit, I allowed myself to recharge. I found my motivation again. I regained my mental balance and my zest for life.

Now, I move through my weeks with less stress, more joy, and a renewed sense of purpose. I can be present with people instead of rushing around in a busy haze.

Saving the Best for Last

Photo by Oziel Gómez on Unsplash

The most exciting update of all? Remember that pang of loneliness I felt? Well…I finally worked up the nerve to ask out my friend Rashmi from sophomore year math class!

We reconnected over coffee last week. One thing led to another, and she’s now my girlfriend! 🥰 Having more balance in my schedule also leaves room for nurturing new relationships.

I can’t wait to see Rashmi this weekend. We’re going on a cute brunch date and watching the new movie. A perfect Saturday!

So, speaking up and finding balance didn’t just restore my energy and grades to normal. It opened me up to exciting new possibilities, too!

I hope my story showed you that pulling yourself out of a burnout funk is possible. Reclaim your time, energy, and happiness! You deserve to have balance.

Now, over to you! Have you felt burnt out before? What are your best tips for avoiding it? Let’s talk in the comments!

--

--

Ruwithma Peiris
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Aspiring writer navigating young adulthood and the twists or early career life. Passionate about connecting a wider audiences to stories that matter .