How Come That Idiot’s Rich And I’m Not?

Joshua Godwin
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readOct 26, 2023

15 lessons from the book

Photo credit: me, myself and i

After SAPA has dealt me several blows, nobody needed to tell me to take a second look at my reading list. By the way, SAPA is a Nigerian slang for brokenness or being broke. My reading appetite has taken a turn, and I now find myself craving financial books like a bowl of chicken soup.

My first read for the month was Robert Kiyosaki’s "Why A Students Work for C Students and B Students Work for the Government," an intensively interesting read. Then I stumbled upon this little book on my mentor’s shelf, Robert Shemin’s "How Come That Idiot’s Rich and I’m Not?" I almost dropped it but decided to dig deeper to behold the beauty that lies within, and sure enough, I caught a glimpse of the beauty. So here, amigo, are some lessons I feel are worth sharing from the book.

1. The individuals society defines early on as "smart" are good at following orders but lousy at giving themselves orders--and extremely lousy at taking charge of their own lives.

2. Stop thinking like an RUB(right side up and broke). Worst? Don't be one. These set of people overthink and overanalyze every little thing, worrying about problems and obstacles that doesn't necessarily exist

3. Whatever you're committed to is what you get. If you're committed to being broke and stressed, that's what you'll get and if you're committed to becoming a rich idiot, that's what you'll equally get.

4. Everyone who is truly happy, truly wealthy, truly successful is committed to something bigger than themselves.

5. Rich idiots have one goal, rich idiots work towards that goal everyday

6. The individuals who often shock the world with their success are not often the smartest individuals. They’re mostly the ones society has labeled as dumb or idiots.

7. To be rich tomorrow, you must live rich today

8. Question everything and rethink the validity of everything you’re taught.

9. Some days, go into your closet. Find your best outfit and put it on. Now go the fanciest restaurant in town. If you can't afford dinner or lunch, sit at the bar and have a drink. Notice the glassware, the table settings, the flowers, the music, the people. See that? you're now one of them. Hold that feeling. Keep it close. It will make you a rich idiot soon

10. Avoid over caution like a wildfire

11. Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle
-Abraham Lincoln-

12. Own your own business, that's the only route to becoming truly rich

13. Commit 5 years to starting your own business. It takes time to meet your big break. Commit and never waver. In the first 1-3 years, things may not happen, stick to it, just one day is enough.

14. The only secret is action

15. How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time. Hence, the longest journey begins with the first step, take that step.

--

--