How I Survived Getting Laid Off and Dumped in The Same Week

Chloe S.
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
6 min readSep 8, 2022

--

I got fired and dumped all in one week — and lived to tell it…

Concerned black woman using smartphone on street
Image by Alex Green for Pexels

I’ve never dealt with rejection well. Do you know that kid who would cry over spilled milk? Well, it was a bottle of water in my case, and it was only because my 3rd-grade teacher scolded me when I accidentally knocked it over. Still, I continued on this tearful trail, well past the point in which it was deemed cute.

So I guess you could say I reacted stronger than most when I was dealt with two major blows exactly one week apart from one another: Losing my coveted job as an editor of a magazine and losing the boyfriend who I thought was “the one.”

As an overachieving, recent Ivy League grad, it felt like the end of the world to get laid off at the ripe old age of twenty-five. Though some of my friends would eventually join my ranks in the months to come, at the time, I was the only person I knew who had experienced a layoff.

It wasn’t supposed to be like this. Throughout my life, I had always been labeled as one of the “smart ones.” Maybe I didn’t have mile-long legs or a 24-inch waist, but I had come to accept that my brains would take me further.

Raised in the era of Project Self Esteem, I had assumed that my career would be an endless ladder, ripe with fulfillment and…

--

--

Chloe S.
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Musings on love, sex, money, health, parenting, and more. Check out my latest musings here: https://chloespeaks.medium.com/subscribe. Happy reading 📖 !