Photo by Riccardo Fissore on Unsplash

How To Avoid From Bad Habits

Goodness is more pleasurable than badness

Royhan Fawwaz
2 min readMay 30, 2024

--

Why do we stick to bad habits?

We often find ourselves drawn to bad habits because they provide immediate pleasure or self-satisfaction. Unfortunately, this has become a stereotype among us. Bad things tend to be enjoyable, such as going to clubs, masturbating, teasing siblings, and so on. On the other hand, goodness tend to be seen as tedious, like going to worship, giving charity, reading books, and so forth.

That’s why it’s so difficult to change our bad habits.

We’ve become comfortable with them (bad habits),

whether it’s lounging around while scrolling through TikTok or masturbating to help us fall asleep. It’s enjoyable, right? And then suddenly, our brain said, “Change your bad habits into good ones.” What? Leave behind enjoyable things to do something boring? Oh, no. Is there another option?

That was my old way of thinking before I realized.

In reality, goodness is far more enjoyable (after I realized it). Reading books, helping my mother wash dishes, assisting my father household chores, and other activities. I realized that in goodness, there are things that make me happy. Similarly, in bad habits, there arethings that bring me joy as well. However, the pleasure between the two is very different. Pleasure from bad habits is only temporary satisfaction of desire, while, pleasure from goodness is genuine pleasure that brings many benefits and satisfies oneself.

How to avoid from bad habits?

So, I concluded that there’s always something pleasure in everything I do. It’s just that is seems more apparent and easier to attain in bad habits.

With this realisation, I learned that to make it easier for us to change our bad habits,

We need to find something else that we love and enjoy with it.

Scrolling TikTok is enjoyable, but reading books turns out to be even more enjoyable. I found pleasure in reading books when I discovered new things that I had never encountered before and wouldn’t find except through books. Finding things that brighten my life.

--

--