I hate Non-Fiction!

Hehe…. I hope so you like the ending.

Muhammad Saad
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
2 min readFeb 20, 2024

--

Photo by Doz Gabrial on Unsplash

I am lying on the charpoy on the roof of my house, hands tied behind my neck, right leg placed on the left one. Under the beautiful heat of the sun, I am thinking about my Medium stats.

Sometimes, I question myself: do people like my stories or not? And that's why I am thinking right now.

I have written almost 20 stories, of which almost 3 to 4 were non-fiction. The rest were fiction-based, and guess what? Most reads are on non-fiction stories. I have read more than 50 stories on Medium and noticed that most people like non-fictional content. Most claps are on those stories that deliver straight points like 'not to do this, instead do this' or 'I did this, and this is what happened.' I am not saying that you shouldn't read that kind of content; sometimes, it's good to read what others think. I just want to change some people's minds about fiction work.

Non-fiction contains straightforward ideas. For example, if a person is procrastinating, he should gather up courage and take the first step instantly or do exercise and blah, blah, blah.

I know it works, but it doesn't give you an explanation or idea of real life. They are just motivation and tips to make you active. It can tell you to overcome procrastination but will not tell you how you will feel, a total workflow, or moment. While in fiction (I am talking about myself), there is a certain story through which you will pass through a complete path to reach the destination. That path will include ideas to beat procrastination, how the person was feeling, how he stood up against his will, how he felt hopeless, and a complete change in his environment that will appeal to your senses to start acting in that particular situation the way he did in the fictional story.

Again, I am not saying that I don’t like fiction. I have read many fictional books. Currently, I am reading ‘The Power of Your Subconscious Mind,’ a book by Joseph Murphy, and TBH, I really like reading it.

I just want to tell you that tips and tricks are good, but the real-life lesson is learned by real experiences when someone passes through that stage.

So I suggest you to read fictional stories along with non-fiction.

Moreover, it's your choice whether you want to read fiction or nonfiction. It's totally up to you.

P.S: The title was just click bait hehe….

--

--

Muhammad Saad
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

I don't know how to enclose 19 chapters of my life into a short bio, but I do know that I love to write, and I hope so, you love to read.