I have a strong passion for traveling, which has led me to explore numerous destinations

sudeshna karkun
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
5 min readAug 28, 2023

I have always had a passion for traveling, which was instilled in me by my father’s love for adventure. As a child, he made sure that we visited many places and met new people. This excitement for exploration was further sparked during my college days when I went on field trips to Shimla and Bhopal. Now, it has become a necessity for me to travel to new destinations and discover all that this world has to offer. I find joy in the process of discovering new places, learning about different cultures and traditions, and exploring all the wonderful things that this world has to offer.

New friends and an array of discussions over ethnicity and ethnocultural talks uncaps at a new destination.

Picture credit by the author, Sudeshna Karkun

Traveling has allowed me to fully express my personality

The fear of inhibition goes away once the e-travel bug hits you and you start to understand the joy of living your life in a suitcase but that doesn’t mean you become a gypsy, at least I didn’t become one yet!!

: Traveling unveils a way of keeping the family together as in family members travel together to places, a sense of bonhomie exists and diaspora is there. Everyone in the member unwinds, relaxes, and finds happiness in each other’s company.

: I have learned many new things in various places I have been to so far. Be it a new food, or a culture different from my own. For example, blue pottery is famous in Jaipur owing to the use of blue-colored dye in the pottery artifacts. I had the chance to even visit their pottery-making outlet.

: I have traveled to almost all parts of India, be it the northern terrains of Jammu and Kashmir or the southern part of Kanyakumari.

: Traveling has helped me to unravel social dilemmas, like not hesitating to meet people on the travel journey or getting to know their views on life and their cultures

: I don’t remember my childhood travel memories but a few things are etched in my mind, like playing with ice at a place called Patnitop, in Kashmir. Then I go forpicnics and hikes alongside the river with my friends in Uddhampur.A small town in Jammu where my father was posted in the Indian Army.

My recent traveling expeditions over the last 10 years

In 2010; I went to Ladakh with my friends, It was a 20-day trip but fully packed, and of course, I felt happy with friends on my side because, with friends, there is so much to share, and the warmth and feeling of easiness there. I don’t remember the names but I think we had covered almost all the monasteries of Ladakh. The calmness of the monastery and the soft chanting of mantras by the monks in there are very soothing. I remember Maggi Point, where an old lady cooked Maggi for us on a gas stove and tea, the tea was yak tea. The milk used in the tea is made from yak. Yak is seen only in Ladakh.

Back in 2015, I had the pleasure of visiting the northeast belt, specifically Darjeeling and Gangtok. For some unknown reason, I find myself returning to this place time and time again. The cool weather, unique souvenirs to purchase, delicious momos and thupkas to indulge in, not to mention the tangy and brothy maggi, satiating the taste buds available at almost every small shop along the highway, all contribute to my love for this region. Even now, my home is adorned with wall plates, intricately carved cups, and a laughing Buddha statue, all reminding me of my memorable trip to Darjeeling. One particular experience stands out in my mind — a one-hour walk I took with my 5-year-old son from our lodging to the main market in Darjeeling, where we planned to have our meal. This walk helped to ease my anxieties and fears, instilling a sense of confidence within me.

Another journey was my north India trip to Jaipur in 2021, this trip will always etch a long-lasting memory in my mind as that was the only journey till now where my family of three has gone together. We covered the entire belt of north India, like Rajasthan, Jaipur, Jaisalmer. Besides the forts and museums, which are the famous and prominent tourist zones of Rajasthan, I enjoyed eating onion kachori, lassi from the small shops on the roads, and the most famous dish -Lal Maas.

Picture credit by the author,Sudeshna Karkun

Our camel ride at Jaisalmer was the most adventurous program on this journey. So it was a one-day package we booked with the hoteliers. The icing on the cake was the camel safari and staying for one night at the lodges in the desert. For the camel safari, we woke up at 4 am, as we had never sat on a camel before, obviously, all of us were in trepidation and a little bit of fear, but once we sat, we enjoyed ourselves. My son started to sing merrily along the journey and both me and my husband too joined him. It was a topsy-turvy ride as the camel’s hump was swaddling all through. Our camel’s name was Julie, over there all The people have kept the names of their camels after famous actors and actresses from Bollywood.

Picture credit by the author,Sudeshna Karkun

I have a passion for traveling and aspire to visit every corner of the world someday. Although I am aware that this goal is far from being achieved, I am content with satisfying my wanderlust by researching and discovering new places through online searches.

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all” by Helen Keller

--

--

sudeshna karkun
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Hello!!I am Sudeshna Karkun.I am an avid traveler, an enthusiastic blogger. I love to play with my dog and run in my free time .