I have been Fighting Pneumonia

Abraham Bamidele ( Editor )
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readFeb 26, 2024

What it looks and feels like

Photo by Randy Tarampi on Unsplash

My life has taken a new trajectory over the past few months- December, it all started in December. I was diagnosed with Pneumonia. A sickness that, at first I could not get a full grasp of. Even now, I have only read some articles on the NHS website about it.

The first few hooks, and the first few pains I felt were horrible, even now, it is still the same and it looks like nothing is working. Basically.

Pneumonia, in my parlance, is a chest inflammatory infection that affects the air sacs, the lungs, the ribs, and overall breathing accuracy. Imagine having to go through all of these in one phase of your own life.

I have been basking in pain and for many moments I realize, that… this is just me. Ever since I knew I was sick, I had a new resonance to life, I got a feeling of doing things as if it was my last and that has changed a lot.

This year is a big one for me. I am a Third Year Passionate Media student and Enthusiast. My Research Project is starting in months and the idea right now is to get better before I embark on it.

As I write, I feel hooks, deep hurts, just like pneumonia eating me up slowly, time is passing, days, hours, seconds and months, just sad, sad. I have been taking meds every day this year and I couldn’t imagine what a life people with sickness live. Until I became one.

Mentally, this sucks, I am not trying to frame a form of exaggeration through this article, I have been in genuine pain that I had to search “Is pneumonia this painful”?

I have started filling in periods for classes for bed rest.

Medications at some point seem to work (suppress) and sometimes it looks like I took nothing. Literally. If I abstain from it, it’s even worse. The other day I missed my meds, I experienced a chest block where I lost my voice completely.

As a student in my penultimate year, I have projects I can’t project this on, or assignments or presentations, so many overwhelming periods on me. My work rate… track records always project how much energy I insert into them. With this phase, knowing that I have to slowly, very slowly take a step back from what I love doing seems to be very dark.

I am optimistic, I am happy, I love people, silently, and I appreciate my teachers, and my past relationships, but what I am faced with right now is what patience and time dictate. The ability to see how it goes, and see how I improve in the coming months is KING.

I believe that in some years to come, I will come back to this story of pneumonia healed. I believe that.

--

--

Abraham Bamidele ( Editor )
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Editor for Illumination Medium. Penultimate Media Student. Write Opinions, Life, Sports, Technology, Politics, and Humanitarian Occurrences.