I Have Decided to Quit Alcohol and Smoking

Ungureanu Madalin Marin
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
2 min readMar 12, 2023
Photo by Taylor Brandon on Unsplash

Firstly, let me tell you how I started smoking briefly. When I was young, some boys at school taught me how to smoke and told me it would make me cool. I tried it and liked it because it made me dizzy, and also because I had some problems at home with my family, and smoking made me feel better. After a month, I became addicted and started smoking regularly. In high school, I also started drinking, so I was both smoking and drinking.

After a few years, one day I felt very sick. I had heart palpitations, was upset, and drank and smoked a lot that evening. At the age of 21, I decided to quit smoking and drinking. My aunt gave me a calming pill to help me sleep, and when I woke up the next day, I quit smoking and drinking. However, for a few days, I felt crazy and had the urge to drink and smoke again. The addiction was still there.

I will now share with you some advice from other friends

  1. Make a plan: Decide on a quit date and stick to it. Write down the reasons why you want to quit, and keep the list with you for motivation.

2. Seek support: Tell your friends and family about your decision to quit, and ask for their support. Join a support group or talk to a counselor if you need extra help.

3. Change your routine: Identify the triggers that make you want to drink or smoke, and find healthy alternatives. For example, if you usually have a drink after work, try going for a walk instead.

4. Manage withdrawal symptoms: When you stop drinking or smoking, you may experience withdrawal symptoms such as headaches, anxiety, or irritability. Talk to your doctor about medications or other treatments that can help.

5. Stay busy: Find new hobbies or activities to fill the time you used to spend drinking or smoking. Exercise is a great way to stay healthy and relieve stress.

6. Stay positive: Celebrate your successes and don’t get discouraged by setbacks. Remember that quitting is a process, and it may take time to fully quit.

7. Avoid triggers: Avoid situations or people that may tempt you to drink or smoke. Stay away from places where alcohol or tobacco are sold or used.

8. Reward yourself: When you reach milestones in your journey to quit, reward yourself with something you enjoy, such as a massage or a favorite meal.

Remember, quitting alcohol and smoking is a journey, and it’s important to take it one day at a time. With determination, support, and a positive attitude, you can successfully quit and live a healthier life.

--

--