I Started Publishing Again After 5 Months Here’s why

Ayush Khare
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readAug 9, 2023

One year ago I was searching for platforms which can help me earn some money by writing I just wanted to buy a laptop to learn game development.

Then in mid January I heard about Medium on Quora.

I have tried almost everything one can to earn money online YouTube, blogger, freelancing websites, etc. And I have learnt from experience that every path we choose has a catch.

Medium must have a catch I thought, before downloading the application. But there was an excitement “what if there is no catch", like every human thinks. I decided to write everyday till one month. I did it for 7 days. The results for good and 100 followers were completed and I decided to enroll in medium partner program.

My analytics of January

And obviously to my set surprise my country wasn’t in the list of countries supported by medium, still it’s not, but, we’ll come to that later.

My sadness surprised me. Should have known better after every failure I faced.

I had full confidence in myself that at the end of the month I will be able to earn at least 1$. It is rightly said, the taller you stand the harder you fall and I did fall. Hurt a lot.

I decided to leave the platform because my final exams were ahead, couldn’t risk losing everything. Or At least this was my excuse for leaving the platform.

In last 5 months I never even thought about doing it seriously. And all this time I was free I deeply regret it today.

The Lowest Point I Reached

It wasn’t like I didn’t post anything. I did post some poems and an article maybe. Not enough.

Why did I come back ?

Yeah, so, right on August 1 as I was browsing Anangsha Alammyan’s YouTube videos, I came across the video titled “Medium Partner Program Is Now Available In India" or something like that. I thought it’s a clickbait, still I clicked on it. And thank god, I did.

As soon as the video ended I went to check if India was added, it wasn’t. I thought, in a day or two it will be.

I started to write everyday, got four articles published in Illumination. On 4th August I wondered why is it not added yet.

I found out the answer by watching another video of the same YouTube channel. It wasn’t that sad, as before. This time, atleast they have told us that 2 months of time will be required to integrate India and two other countries into Medium Partner Program.

I hope the delay is of only two months, as they say.

Till then I will be regular on medium posting in a day or two. Make sure you follow me.

Clap this story up, so that I feel motivated.

Thanks for reading.

--

--

Ayush Khare
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

I write on Life, Spirituality, and a bunch of other good stuff. Follow me if you want to read something amazing daily.