I Want to Feel a Different Kind of High

A short story about chasing change in a world that’s moving backwards.

Kiera McCoard
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
2 min readJan 19, 2021

--

Photo by Jeffery Wong on Unsplash

Different Kind of High

I surveyed my Venus fly trap, before traipsing out the door for the first time in thirteen days. It was welcoming a small fly to rest on its sticky, veiny bed. Which it eventually, inevitably devours. A stroll through the city has its disastrous reminders. People are poison.

I glanced at the unfamiliar faces that disappeared as they walked past. These people were blowing dense clouds of slow-circulating smoke. Through their cars, through their mouths. But I’m chasing a different kind of high. I followed a stone path ahead rising in rugged perfection. The light played over the grey as if it were the fingers of a pianist upon gentle keys.

As I reached the top of the rocky surface, my feet stood immobile. I disrupted the silence with a scream that shattered my entire body; like a porcelain doll falling on the floor. It left me utterly drained, with my mouth rigid and sore. My eyes watered as the harsh wind whipped the hair across my face.

I watched from a distance while the city I live in slowly deteriorates. The same way a fly does, living inside a Venus fly trap.

--

--

Kiera McCoard
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Australian psychology student with a passion for article writing & free verse poetry. When psychology meets poetry, there is a profoundly beautiful mix.