Is AI Killing Your Genius?

You wake up one day and ignore the mirror to hop on the plan B train to work. You avoid the looks you get around and focus on making it on time. You’re almost on time when you pass next to a mirror to realize your eyebrows are painted pink and your hair is green. Why did AI think this looks normal?!

Daily Life Escapism
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
4 min readSep 3, 2023

--

“Astronaut sitting on a computer in a spaceship with synthwave colors 3d art” — This is an AI-generated image whose copyright is with the Author, by using Dall-E The author assumes responsibility for the copyright of this image.

All jokes aside, AI isn’t deciding automatic looks for us yet.

But I do see and hear a lot about AI and feel like it’s misused. My opinion might be askew but I believe as a human, that some things shouldn’t be left for AI. The human creativity must always have a place in this world.

So here’s how I use AI without losing myself.

Writing

AI is smart enough today to offer story ideas and complete entire stories for you. That’s not for me. If my ideas and my stories don’t come from my mind then I am a marionette for the AI mastermind program sitting in some server basement.

I truly believe that any writer who uses AI to dictate a story idea or narrative shouldn’t be called a writer. I despise people who take the easy route. And those people have a different alternative than writing something good to move people’s minds.

All my ideas and stories here come from my mind. I’m not very social and I love my solitude, and as a result, I don’t have anybody to aim these questions at other than you, my audience. So whatever I am thinking of I am sharing here because I love deep discussions about life.

What happened when I ran out of ideas?

I stopped writing.

And when I got ideas and passion back to write about odd questions in my mind, I came back. Using AI to dictate an idea or narrative will be against my beliefs. I will be betraying myself.

It’s a fine line to walk, but I do believe AI has a place in writing. People believe AI is here to steal our jobs or to think for us, but it’s far from the truth. I believe it can be here to inspire us.

I don’t remember the last time I used AI for writing but I would use it to inspire me or save me time.

If I have a story that has a few points but I missing something I’ll ask AI about it. I won’t blindly copy the bullet points. I’ll take inspiration and understand what’s the bigger missing picture.

If I want to save time, I can ask general questions I would have explored Google for. I did plenty of that for my fiction book writings. AI is a great aggregator of data.

Building A Brand

I used to draw when I was little. But over the years, writing and life took over and it isn’t as fun as it used to be. It’s sad to admit, but drawing is one thing in life I cannot make room for.

Most people who do know how to draw won’t start creating cool media assets for each story they produce. That would be a mountain of work.

I use AI for it, specifically DALL-E because it gives me 15 credits a month.

I’ve made sure to theme all my social accounts of Daily Life Escapism with an Astronaut doing something. I love SciFi and I feel like it embodies a part of myself in this creative endeavor. And AI helps me build a consistent image across all my stories.

You can even copy my image prompt. It’s already been approved by numerous big publications.

How is this different than using AI for writing?

When is using AI wrong?

It’s all about your intent.

My intention here is to share my ideas and thoughts about society and the world through stories. Hence using AI will be wrong for me because it will go against my writing style and ideas. I would be a fake writer.

However, regarding the art of my brand, my intention is different. I don’t aim to become an artist creating Astronauts. My purpose is to build a consistent brand image for my writing endeavors.

Hand-crafting an image for each post will beat the purpose since it would take up time I could use for writing. That’s why using AI for my art is true.

It’s subtle, but it makes all the difference.

What is your intention and how do you use AI?

--

--