Poetry

Knowing How Much Love to Give

I must save some for me

They Told Me Not To Write™
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

--

Created in Canva by #poetrybysaba

A lost love;

I was excited that day, I said YES to you, though I was only 18.

I was choosing to be your wife, in life and death, and all that will take place in between.

But after 3 children and 1 lost. bullets, bombs, and blame, I am tired, and honestly who wouldn’t be?

So, I’m taking a step back, removing myself,

because I must save some, for me.

A broken love;

I met you in the prime of my youth. I was sure ready to fly. So you put out your hand and said go.

I’ll show you the sky there’s no place We can’t see

so after 7 years why do I feel so low?

You took my hand, just to pull me away,

your grip was stronger than my NO.

You fed me candy so that I would not cry, such a strange tactic I see.

So now deceit is my friend, to you, a liar I am,

but I had to save some, for me

My first love;

I loved you so pure, I loved you so long, I loved you so innocently.

My skin would shiver. My feet froze while my mind raced. My heart would beat irregularly.

In my heart your name was carved, no wrong could you do, to ever make me unhappy.

So why was I second? Why was she here? Why wasn’t I your priority?

But my tears are dried up, you must let me go, I am, my focus lately.

I hate that we lost, but we CANNOT try again.

Because I will save some, for me

A Mature Love;

So, you call me beloved, your manliness is majesty, I’ve been woven in your “webby”

In my future I see laughter, in your eyes I see mine, will your love, be my new poetry?

Will our nights be peaceful? On a chilly balcony, we will sit, wrapped up in my tranquility

Will your bed become mine? Will your chest be my pillow? Will this room be our sanctuary?

Will we get high off each other? Will we grow finer with time? I know you’ll be addicted to me.

But you waited this long, for a woman to hold and I for an Alpha imagery.

So to touch my soul and never want to detach, or pull out from my femininity,

tell me to stay and make all of me yours. But please…

you have to save some, for me.

--

--