Culture — Mexico

Learning Other Cultures Through Someone’s Home

Having a local meal at someone’s house is the best way to experience culture.

Cindy Roaming
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readJan 22, 2024

--

Photo by Author

When my local friends, let’s call them Juan and Reynita, invited me and my husband to have dinner at their home. No second thought, “Nos encantaría,” we said immediately. “We’d love to.”

Left, inside the metro. Right, the view outside the station. Photo by Author

After Reynita sent their address, which is 50 minutes from our home. There we were, hopping the Metro with one transfer and 16 stops, and at the last stop, we rode a taxi to their home.

When we arrived, they took us on a home tour of a big house with two floors, three bedrooms, and two bathrooms.

Photo by Author

On the top floor, there was a cage for their pet rabbits. And to my surprise, as I look closer, they are munching tostadas (fried tortillas). “Mira, les gustan tostadas!” I exclaimed excitedly.

Even bunnies in Mexico are into tortillas. How intriguing!

--

--

Cindy Roaming
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

I write about my travel story, foods, and culture. Currently in Mexico City🇲🇽