Let’s Find Your Purpose in Life.

A guide to finding your life’s purpose.

Alex Robinson
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
5 min readOct 24, 2023

--

Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

Life is a pendulum swing of good times and bad times.

Sometimes, life can get so mundane, that it’s impossible to discern if it can be classed as a good time or a bad time.

What factor amongst all of those things that can remain despite the times being good or bad, is purpose. Your purpose.

So, what is my purpose?

It’s not a… easy question to answer.

5 years ago, I’d have shrugged my shoulders if you asked me what my life purpose was.

If you asked me it now, I’d answer with, “my purpose is to provide and care for those around me and to guide those who need it with the wisdom I have obtained.”

If you ask me the same question 10 years from now, would my answer be the same? Well, there’s no guarantee it would be.

But if what we believe our purpose to be in life can change, why bother finding it?

It’s so we don’t get lost.

Life is always so uncertain. Round the corner could be fortune, but a little further ahead could be grief too.

Many aspects of our lives we simply cannot control. We can’t decide fate, nor destiny, nor if that favourite shop of yours will still be open a few years from now.

But purpose — your belief as to what your life purpose is — will keep you grounded. Keep you going.

There’s a purpose in having a life purpose

What is that purpose?

Many people in life whom I’ve known who are typically depressed, anxious, hopeless, etc. are only that way because they have no sense of direction.

If you’re not actively working toward anything then what else does your mind get to occupy besides the woe of your inactivity?

I remember being sat in my bedroom 5 years ago upset, agitated, swearing to the world because all I did was wake up, playing games, go sleep.

I always wondered why I could never escape my own head.

Well, now, the answer is clear. There was nothing for me to ever think about besides my own detriment.

You see, that is inaction. People who practice inactivity will have no direction.

If you live by the pendulum, you’ll die by it. If you live by your own action, then at least you’ll die knowing you acted.

The purpose of a life purpose is to keep you controlled and moving forward no matter what events arise.

Even when you’re celebrating the good times or grieving when it gets bad, it does not matter how amazing the good is or how awful the bad is, you’re still heading in a direction. You’re not lost to the emotion or sudden circumstance. You’re still in control.

Photo by Benjamin Davies on Unsplash

So, what should my purpose be?

Well… anything, really.

What is it you’re passionate about?

What is it you always get fulfillment from?

What evolves you into a better person?

What garners you respect and a sense of pride?

What motivates others but uplifts yourself?

There’s no real or right answer.

I would say that you ideally pick a purpose that is larger than yourself.

My purpose, I believe, is to provide and support others but guide those with the wisdom I have obtained. That, I think is truly what I’m here for.

However, I have other purposes too. I believe my ability to tell stories was not on accident and perhaps I’m destined to become an author.

I also believe my purpose is to become the most mindful, strongest, willed, and reliable of a man I can be for my family and future family.

These are things ultimately larger than myself. I don’t want monetary gains, I’m not after materialistic items, and whilst I’m not saying that makes me a better person for it, I’m simply saying those aren’t purposes. Getting rich is a goal. Getting fitter is a goal. However, that isn’t to say if they’re what your purpose is currently, then so be it. That is yours, and I am of no right to judge.

At the end of the day, even if you don’t believe in there being a universal reason for your existence, giving yourself one anyway ensures you never get lost in this one-way trip we call life.

Your purpose is anything you define yourself as. Just remember that maybe it’s not about seeking it, but perhaps letting it find you first. So don’t worry if you have no idea just yet.

How can I act on my purpose?

Finding it is one thing, but it’s another to determine how you can stick to acting on it.

I don’t like using myself as an example but, look at my case.

I think my purpose is to support and care for those around me but also guide those who need it through my wisdom and lessons learned.

Medium is an outlet where I can share my wisdom and learnt lessons to hopefully guide somebody who stumbles across my written work.

Every time I think of writing here, every time I do, every time I click publish, I’m enacting on that purpose.

And that’s just one way. Eventually, I plan on starting numerous Instagram accounts to share my wisdom. My lessons. My guidance.

The trick is to not overthink how you’re going to do it, but to research ways to do it.

Photo by name_ gravity on Unsplash

That’s it from me.

A lengthy-ish one, but one I reflected on recently through a deep conversation with my younger brother.

He asked me about life purposes, and together, we discussed them.

If you’re depressed, anxious, lost, or hopeless, then identifying your life purpose is what you need.

Without action, you’re merely still. With how fast life is, being still, only means you’ll be left behind and life does not care for that.

If you’re not growing, you’re dying.

The one thing in this unpredictable trip around Earth that you can control is where you place your efforts.

And there’s no more dignifying, self-empowering way to remain on track despite the times of good and bad than working towards your purpose.

--

--

Alex Robinson
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Self Improvement, Mental Health, and Guidance Writer | I help young people and young adults find purpose and obtain a better quality of life