Multiple Interest Disorder

Reshma
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readMay 9, 2024

Have you ever heard of this disorder? Well, now you’ll have to hear me out. This disorder has affected me and is affecting people around the world who may not even know they are suffering from it.

It all started during my school days when the long-lived conversations of our school were starting to vanish. Suddenly, it felt like there was only a year left to spend the golden era of our lives. It’s where you find your best friends, first crush, and maybe even your soulmate. I know that’s a lot, but you get it, right? And the era is now ending…

Until that one day, when my best friend asked me, 'Reshma, what’s your plan?' and I was like, 'What’s my plan? I was in the mind to finish this rushing exam first and then let’s see where my life goes.’

So that’s your plan ??

Yeah, yours??

I regret even now for asking that question. Here is a lesson: never ask someone who questioned you first because someone can be genuine, and some are dying to tell their long-listed plans. That day, I got the 2nd one. I was asked to listen to her plans from 18 to 50s. Seriously, 50s! That was a huge plan, very huge.

Then, I started worrying like everyone does. I asked my friends how they decided on their passion, and they all suggested many ways to do it. However, nothing worked out for me. Really, not even one!

Then I started to search for my passion, which should be my love of life forever!!!,

Every day, I read about something and live with that passion for one month. If I like it, it will become my passion for life. That’s my plan, as I don’t have much time left.

After reading about various professions including lawyers, hosts, VJs, RJs, dancers, journalists, IITians, book publishers, YouTubers, and many more, I found myself liking everything, and now I can’t even recall all of them.

College hunting was tough, but it was also the best time of my life. There’s a difference between being challenging and being rewarding.

Searching for colleges and courses after school for around six months was only my job. In school, I never found it, and I couldn’t. It didn’t stop right there. This intrigued my relationships. “Be friendly to everyone” may sound like good advice, but it’s not.

I believed that advice and I hurt my feelings more than anyone did, I couldn’t figure out, who was my favourite, whom I loved, whom I didn’t and who am I really???

Lost in the woods, searching for something but don’t know what am I searching!!!, a horrible feeling...

So you may ask have I figured it out,well it’s an yes

I finally found my passion for writing and neuroscience, after all the chaos, it took really a long time to do it, and still I’m a beginner at these fields but as the captain says, “ I can do this all day” and this is the feeling you should get when you truly love something

From this, I learnt some relationship advice too if you love something, it will not be so easy to handle it, it takes time, effort and persistence and you’ll be fine with everything they do.

So, in the end, did I finally recover from this disorder?

The answer is

No….

And never I can 😜and it’s the best disorder one can have, even though it is challenging…

And we call them polymath..

Thanks for reading!!

By

Reshma 😎😎!!

Screenshot by author

--

--

Reshma
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Hola!!, I'm Reshma and I'm currently a biotech student who has a passion for writing and neuroscience, I write both fiction and nonfiction,let's learn together