My First 3 Months on Medium

And not hitting even the 100-follower mark!

Piyush Vaish
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readNov 4, 2023

--

Photo by charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

30 Followers at the end of First Month.
60 Followers at the end of Second Month.
x Followers at the end of the Third Month.

Find x?

(While I’m writing this, I’m reminded of ratio and proportion, but those memories aren’t very pleasant)

Was your impromptu answer, x = 90?

Mine was too.
I had assumed it.

But, x = 79.

Writing defies math. Hence proved.

Can I reach 100 in the Third Month?

I expected to gain 90 followers at the end of the third month.

I left the rest (10) to luck and the social media algorithm to work its magic.

But, did I do anything extra to reach that goal?
NO.

I just kept posting my stories on ILLUMINATION once a week, hoping that the algorithm and people would like my content.

I would get excited every time a green dot appeared on the notification bell, thinking it might be a new follower.

And even if it wasn’t a follower, I was happy to see claps and comments on my replies to other people’s stories. It made me feel validated and encouraged.

The Result

I fell short of a century by 21 Followers.

Similar efforts = Similar results
It’s a no-brainer.

So, you might be wondering, why didn’t I attempt to do more.

I always stick to what I can do regularly.

Even if I had posted more, I would have found it hard to continue. So, what’s the use of putting in effort for a short time? Plus, the quality might have suffered.

Or perhaps I’m just comfortable with posting once a week.

Afterall, you step out of the comfort zone only to return to it later 🙂

What I did NOT do

I don’t believe in going berserk after the numbers. I stuck to my core beliefs, schedule & strategy.

  1. Promotion
    I haven’t told the whole world that I write on Medium. It’s between you, me, and the algorithm on this platform.
  2. No Follow for the Follow Back
    Some days, I had more followers, while other days, the count dropped.
    I realized that some people followed me, expecting me to follow them back.
    However, I didn’t follow them because I didn’t connect with or relate to their content or stories.
  3. Google/Chat GPT was NOT disturbed for Idea Generation
    Everything I write is based on my personal experiences, and it’s my own unique ideas, observations, and thoughts. That’s why my stories are 101% original.
  4. NOT Cancelled my Membership
    I joined Medium with the expectation of the Medium Partner Program (MPP) launching in India. Now, since it’s still not close to being launched, I could have given up my membership. But I’m still keeping it, and I’m not sure why. Maybe to keep exploring without any interruptions.

You will not find any story similar to mine anywhere on the internet! Why?

Because they are my own ideas, experiences & insights.

But, what did I achieve?

Satisfaction with my writing.

Sharing allows our ideas to live on. If I didn’t write it down, my thoughts would have remained with me until the end.

I haven’t come across anyone else writing the same things I do. If you happen to find someone similar, please let me know.

Also, I wrote this story for those going through a similar situation, to let them know that they’re not alone in this journey.

Would I STOP writing now?

NO.

Because I’ve developed a habit of consistency.

I’ve been posting regularly on LinkedIn for the past 8 months, and that habit has now extended to my writing on Medium.

Oh & I even have a newsletter, where I share insights from daily life.
You can read my ‘Why’ for starting a newsletter here.

Keep living. Keep sharing.

Leaving you with my favorite story

About Me

I am Piyush Vaish. A Developer turned Designer and an Online Writer.
I am on a mission to build a brand without a niche.

If you liked what you’ve read, become a reader of my newsletter to receive ideas, experiences & insights from daily life.

--

--

Piyush Vaish
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Developer turned Designer. On a mission to normalize writing without a niche.