100 Rejections

My Next Goal Is to Be Rejected 100 Times in 1 Year

Let’s see how far I can get.

Charlie J 🕊️
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
4 min readFeb 22, 2024

--

Image created via Canva Pro

I started writing on Medium 18 months ago. 34 days ago, I made this account with 2 goals in mind:

  • I wanted 100 followers and 1,000 reads by February 18th, and
  • I wanted to “beat” my other account by July 17, 2024.

As of writing this, it is February 21st. I have 920 followers and 5.9k reads. My first account is sitting at 1,200 followers. Though I haven’t quite beaten it yet, the day I surpass my first account is not too far off.

This has got me thinking:

In what other ways am I severely underestimating myself?

I began this account as an experiment. I wanted to prove to myself that I had what it took to find rapid success.

Clearly, I do.

So, it’s time to set some new goals.

My Next Goal

A few years ago, I heard about a girl who wanted to get rejected 100 times. She made it to about 63 rejections before she had to end the experiment. Why did she give up?

Well, her life changed so much that she didn’t have time to keep seeking rejection.

--

--