My Whole World Is Gone…Or Is It?

Steven L
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
4 min readFeb 24, 2023

--

Photo by Steven Laine

New Years Eve

Patrick J’s Bar And Grill

December 31, 2018

My phone buzzed. It was a text from Don. It read, “Hey Steve, I am running late; I will be there in about 15 minutes.

It was a quiet night on New Year’s Eve as I sat alone in the bar at Patrick J’s, sipping my drink.

What in the hell happened? It was all going so well, and then it ended. The signs were there, but I failed to admit it to myself. I was in a reality that I didn’t want to confront. I was facing a divorce.

My life in Oxford was gone, my marriage gone, and how would Matthew and Aidan react to all of this? Divorce is hard on any child, but how do you explain it to two kids on the autism spectrum that have communication issues and other challenges?

The signs were there, but I failed to see them. I went forth on an overdetermined optimistic attitude of thinking that this was just a bad phase my marriage was in and that it would eventually work itself out. I forewent my happiness for what I thought was the greater good, but what ended up was a toxic environment full of destruction.

I felt like a failure. In whatever situation I faced, I always found a solution, yet I couldn’t find a solution for this. I couldn’t control it, no matter how hard I…

--

--

Steven L
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

A single father of two teenage boys on the autism spectrum. I also have a passion for blogging and running.