Clapping once you offend a writer

Anna Nigmati
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readFeb 2, 2024

Give as much support to a newbie with claps as you can

Credit to Janko Ferlič – a free picture on Unsplash

What is clapping

You can leave reactions to any publication on Medium, regardless of your status and subscription.

The number of claps can vary, and it’s up to you to decide how much support to give.

I say support specifically because that’s just the way it is.

Support a newbie

Imagine yourself as a freshman at school. You’re standing in front of the class, and as the teacher calls your name and gives a short intro, you want to fall through the floor. You weave on cast-iron legs to the desk she pointed to, and your stomach churns with a non-melting piece of ice.

Credit to Zhivko Minkov — a free picture on Unsplash

This will pass, and you’ll get the hang of it sooner or later, but at first, it’s always hard to find a pair for home projects and eat alone. No matter how long it takes, it’s oh-so unpleasant for even the most confident ones. I’ve been the new kid in class twice, and I know what I’m talking about.

Every new environment is just as stressful

But imagine that on your first day in class, the most popular girl comes up to you, takes your hand, and introduces you to her friends. Do you feel better now? So much.

Medium recommends you to give the maximum of your claps (50) to really outstanding posts, so more people can see them.

But I believe that the truly outstanding publications are made by authors that don’t give up, and not giving up is easier when you get a response from the world.

Until you have almost no subscribers, you’re not added as an author anywhere, you act intuitively, and feedback is so much matters.

So don’t spare your support for those who have just started posting on Medium.

To leave more claps, just click more times (honestly, I didn’t know before).

The real meaning of claps

It’s been no more than 10 days since I published my first post on Medium, and I’m already realizing that there’s a big difference in how it feels when you get a +1 or a +20.

I always put a reaction to a post I’ve finished reading. After all, even the fact that my attention was held is a thing.

But earlier I clicked only once (just as didn’t get I can do more), that is, I left only +1, not knowing that I offended the author. It’s like leaving a coin as tips instead of 7–10% of the bill. It would be better to leave nothing at all.

Life is a constant energy exchange. The author’s article is the result of effort, creativity, and time. And leaving this energy unanswered is like accumulating energy debts.

It is difficult to receive without giving. So be open, be generous, and you will see how much energy will come to you from the world in return.

Thank you for being with me till the end.

Subscribe to me on Medium. I share here stories that warm souls. For anyone lonely needs support, or just wants to exhale. I’m always here for you. Hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Anna

--

--

Anna Nigmati
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Author with a trained voice, in love with meanings, can write passionately even about ball bearings, expern in branding, run my agency