SELF IMPROVEMENT

Ra Ma Da Sa: A Mid-Year Reset Ritual

Reset, Reflect, and Realign: Your Guide to a Powerful Mid-Year Check-In

Anu
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

--

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

The Struggle of Getting Back on Track

After a period of inactivity, writing can become challenging. Words may not flow as easily, and stringing together coherent sentences can feel like an uphill battle. Especially, when one is consumed by the social media blackhole of endless scrolling, it becomes even more daunting to focus long enough to compose a blog post.

I’m currently in this phase. Following a month of intense work and a demanding schedule that pulled me away from my newly adopted habits of writing and Zumba, I’m struggling to regain my momentum. It’s striking how difficult it is to start and maintain a routine, yet how easily we can fall out of one. Small deviations quickly derail our schedule. External factors end up dictating our pace.

The Power of a Mid-Year Reset

Yesterday, in an attempt to course-correct myself, I discovered an intriguing video about realigning oneself for the remainder of the year. It’s hard to believe that half the year has already passed! While it’s easy to contemplate limited progress, it’s far more challenging to actively work towards manifesting our desires. This ritual aims to help with just that.

The Reset Ritual: Step by Step

Here are the steps to perform this reset ritual:

  1. Cleanse your environment: Create a calm, clean space. Light incense, set up mood lighting, or light a candle — anything that soothes your senses.
  2. Prepare your tools: Have your journal and a pen ready.
  3. Release negativity: Begin by writing an intention to release all negativity from your space. Acknowledge that while certain situations and people may cause negativity, they’re beyond your control. Focus on not letting them affect you.
  4. Meditate: Close your eyes and meditate for 10 minutes to calming chants of “Ra Ma Da Sa”, [for YouTube link click here].
  5. Practice gratitude: Reflect on what you’re thankful for and the positive experiences from the first half of the year.
  6. Envision the future: Write your story for the coming six months. Then, underline the keywords that represent your main goals and desires.

My Personal Experience

For me, gratitude starts with my children. A daily hug from my little one washes away the day’s troubles — this has become my ritual to maintain balance. I can’t recommend this enough — a simple touch from a loved one is magical.

In many ways, I have the simple life I once yearned for. While I may not see myself as particularly ambitious, I do try to make small improvements daily. Starting this blog is one such step, though I’m still working on establishing a consistent schedule and identifying themes that could potentially lead to a book and retirement plan. It’s a start, nonetheless.

As for my vision for the next six months, my keywords include finding more purpose in my work or rather more purposeful work, a better balance in things I do. Establishing a consistent writing schedule, leading a healthier and more active life, and fostering happiness in those around me.

The Path Forward

This mid-year reset ritual offers a powerful opportunity to reflect, realign, and refocus on our goals. It’s a chance to shed what’s no longer serving us and recommit to what truly matters. Whether you follow these steps exactly or adapt them to suit your needs, the key is to pause, reflect, and set intentional goals for the months ahead.

Remember, it’s never too late to reset and redirect your path. Every day offers a new beginning, and this mid-year point is the perfect time to harness that potential. So, light that candle, grab your journal, and take the first step toward manifesting the life you envision for yourself.

--

--

Anu
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Avid Reader. Reluctant writer. On a journey to craft captivating stories that evoke the warmth of a cozy tea session.