Remodeling My Home Gym For Under $300

Tonya
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
5 min readJan 24, 2021
Pre Remodel Photos

As 2020 drew to a close and the reality of a yearlong struggle that things were definitely not going to be re-opening anytime soon, I had to make the decision to upgrade my home gym situation.

I'll be honest, as a strength athlete, I really don’t need much, not space or things. I can make do with very little, and having a husband that is handy around the house has its perks.

Over the last year, my poor husband has been roped into all sorts of ideas I have to improve my home gym situation, but this renovation was one I was able to accomplish all on my own. Thankfully, no power tools were involved!

We bought our home 3 years ago, and it has been a never-ending task to remodel it. We’ve finished 3 rooms and are currently working on the 4th when I decided I couldn’t stand how inefficient this gym space was for me.

Here is a breakdown of how simple it was for me to upgrade this space for just under $300 and a little elbow grease!

New paint was a necessity, I bought this gray color from Lowes for around $50/gal.

As you can see in the above picture, there is a section of the room that is missing paint. I promise, ill explain as we get there!

Our home is a single-story so making sure I had a place to drop the weights adequately was pretty important. Most of my equipment I’ve acquired over the years of being an athlete, so thankfully, I really didn’t have much as far as big purchase items. What was left for me to buy, though, were fill in items, such as the flooring.

I snagged two-floor mats from Tractor Supply for $25 apiece.

Ideally, it would be nice to have the entire floor covered, but that would be more for visual purposes and my main goal was functionality.

Since this room is quite literally a spare bedroom, it previously had a ceiling fan in it as well as a regular light bulb. I would need to turn the light on 10 minutes before I planned on doing anything inside this room because the bulb would need to warm up.

Once the bulb was warm, I would finally have a light where I could see what I was doing but still had to work around the ceiling fan, so it had to go!

$60 later, I had a nice LED light, purchased from Lowes.

Is it really a remodel if you don’t add a few things for fun?

I managed to find some stickers to put on my bumper plates; I got 2 sets for $30 total.

As well as this Hyper Bench off Amazon for $90

Once I was finished with all the above items, it was time to start making room for my day-to-day equipment.

As I mentioned earlier, I would touch on why there was no paint on this side of the room. Sure I’m aware it looks silly but as promised, there is in fact a reason behind the madness!

The wall you're looking at connects to our master bedroom, so once our garage is finished being built this room will be expanded into a walk-in closet as well as a larger bathroom.

I didn’t see much point in painting the walls that were just going to be torn down in a few months, anyway. I am the only person who uses this room, so it really doesn’t bother me to look at the ugly pea-green color.

As you can see in the right corner, my equipment is stacked up and easy to access, which before was strewn all over the floor, including my dining room.

and to the left side of the room, I’ve uncovered the desk, set up an extra tv, and made the perfect little streaming center that looks straight ahead to my deadlift platform.

Finally, we made it to the grand finale! Here is where all the magic happens… or so I like this think at least!

Total cost of Remodel: $280

Paint: $50

Floor Mats: $50

Light: $60

Stickers: $30

Hyper Bench: $90

Below are posted the before and after pictures of the room!

All photos were captured by the author

--

--

Tonya
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Athlete, Health & Fitness YouTube Content Creator & Twitch Streamer