Should You Still Be Driving a Petrol (Gasoline) Car?

Peer pressure or current choice?

Tony Bapuji
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
2 min readJan 23, 2024

--

Metallic green soft top car on cobblestone road in Potsdam
Image by author

I’ve got an old petrol car which I acquired second hand some time back. It still feels like new. Many around me now have electric vehicles, maybe hybrid. I’m not quite ready to replace it yet.

My car runs well. I maintain it and have it serviced. I use my vehicle pragmatically with the environment in mind. I drive it efficiently. I don’t accelerate or brake harshly. And I usually walk and take public transport whenever I reasonably can.

Walking means that I get free exercise! When I do heavy shopping, it’s like a free gym membership! Well, kind of…

One example where I prefer to use the car is a monthly 30-mile journey. It takes 45 to 75 minutes, depending on traffic. However, the same journey by public transport would involve around two and a half hours door-to-door. That’s a five-hour round trip!

Also, by taking my car, I can offer lifts to others — even if only to drop them off a couple of miles to the station on the way home.

I enjoy driving my car. Perhaps because I essentially choose when to. But it’s like a game. The rules are care, attention, safety, and comfort.

I am looking into getting an EV, but the time is different now.

What car do you drive?

--

--