Take a stand…respect yourself first

Neha Tyagi
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readMar 15, 2024

After experiencing the facade of Women’s Day firsthand, I decided that it was time to take a stand. 💪👩‍👧‍👦💜

Many people were excited to celebrate International Women’s Day and boasted about their commitment to inclusivity for women in the workforce and their growth opportunities.

And it got me thinking about the unfortunate reality facing many women in the corporate world.

However, there’s no point in dwelling on what’s wrong. I can either make peace with it or take a stand.

I decided to take a stand, starting with respecting myself. Here’s how I am going to do it:

  1. I have my boundaries and I expect people to respect them: Yes, 🙅‍♀️ I am not comfortable drinking, 🍺 or hanging out after office hours, 🕒 and not a party animal. 🎉 I have my boundaries and am comfortable with them.
Photo by Jonathan Daniels on Unsplash

2. I am self-aware: I know my strengths 💪 and weaknesses 🤕, and I am not embarrassed by them. When I say I can do it, I mean it.

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

3. I am not afraid to be assertive: People may feel I am pushing them back hard, 💪 but honestly, I am not afraid to be assertive when I have facts 💡 and logic on my side.

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

4.I believe in myself: The naysayers can try as much as they like to demotivate me and cloud my mind with negative thoughts, but I will not stop believing in myself.

Photo by Andy Montes de Oca on Unsplash

5. I will fight alone: Agreed, I do not excel at politics and lobbying, but I have come so far on sheer hard work 💪 and capability. Hence, I am sure that one day I will win! 🏆”

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

6. I will be my leader: I can’t keep waiting for something to happen or for people to make time for me. It may never happen, so I have decided to become my leader. 💪👊 I will make my path and walk on it, even if that means making mistakes along the way. 🚶‍♀️🚶‍♂️

Photo by Jehyun Sung on Unsplash

When the night is darkest, the dawn is near and the first ray of sunshine is about to emerge. But till then I will hold my head high and march on!

Did you enjoy my writing?

If you have a similar experience please share and please don’t forget to leave comments and some claps as a form of encouragement. Thank you!

You can check out my other posts, and follow and subscribe to them here.

If you have any suggestions or feedback about this post or my writing in general, please drop me a comment, or you can get in touch with me on LinkedIn.

Thank you!

--

--

Neha Tyagi
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Hello There! Thanks for browsing by! I started writing a few months back on variety of topics. The common thread is that each article is my honest reflection.