The 3 Dark Lights To A Successful Journey!

Ahmadou DIALLO ✪
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
6 min readNov 12, 2022

--

Photo by Oleksandr Pidvalnyi from Pexels

“The real test is not whether you avoid this failure because you won’t. It’s whether you let it harden or shame you into inaction, or whether you learn from it; whether you choose to persevere.”

Barack Obama

What is one lesson you have learned today?

What loss are you mourning today?

What life are you chasing today?

“Yes, but you are there. We are here. Don’t tell us that.” Yet, that is the sentence I hear each time I exchange with some people in Dakar, Senegal.

Be it friends or family, I feel the burden of their projections about success in their eyes.

I understand their feelings. I have been there. I used to idolize and envy all my cousins, aunts, uncles, or other family members who would visit us in Dakar, Senegal.

To my eyes, they were like angels descending on the hell of a third-world country and coming from France or the United States of America.

As I see them returning home, bearing some gifts for us, I define coming to France as a sign of success.

--

--

Ahmadou DIALLO ✪
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

🏆 Top Medium Writer in Ideas. I am a professional storyteller who can help you share your stories. Find out more here: https://www.madception.com