The Gathering — Wendell Barry and Amanda Gorman

Cappelli, MFA, JD, PhD
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readMar 22, 2022

--

The Poetics of Place

Photo by Taylor Leopold on Unsplash

I’ve been reading the poets on Medium lately as well as others, and am most intrigued by those poets who create a sense of place in their poetry. Perhaps it is because I’m deeply influenced by Tim Cresswell’s theory of Topopoetics, which sees a poem as a way to interpret the interaction between the poet and the “geographical world.” According to Cresswell, space and place are not the same. While space is bountiful and “limitless,” place is a “bounded” segment of space, which opens up humanity’s imagination to impose on it connotative psycho-social, racial, political associations.

Place is thus constructed within a space. Using their imagination, poets thus create a sense of place calling readers to come and join together and imagine our individual and collective moments of humanity. The poem itself becomes a site of gathering as in Wendell Berry’s “The Gathering” in which he describes the gathering of fathers and sons across generations growing into a brotherhood of memory and being.

The Gathering
By Wendell Barry

At my age my father
held me on his arm
like a hooded bird,
and his father held him so.
Now I grow into brotherhood
with my father as he
with his had grown,
time teaching me
his thoughts in my own.
Now he speaks in me
as when I knew him first,
as his father…

--

--

Cappelli, MFA, JD, PhD
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Top Know Nothing Writer with way too many degrees who enjoys musing on life's absurdity.