The Light Will Set Us Free

Let the light inside you light the way for those who are still in the dark.

Ibrahim Efe
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readApr 24, 2024

--

Photo by kazuend on Unsplash

Once I am in it, the harder it is to get out of it. And the more I try to, the deeper I fall into it.

As my descent continues, I learn that over-thinking is a bottomless pit.

The mind has learned to start the over-thinking process so well that all it needs is a cue. The lightest will do. And so starts the process of over-thinking.

I am taken away from the ever so precious moment and put into a place of anxiety. One that gets stronger the longer I am there and holds me from coming back.

What is it that I want to accomplish by over-thinking things?

Why do I try to go into such depth that I want to break down the thought into its subatomic particle!

The thought running wild in my head and exposing my deepest secrets and fears to myself. Making the unknown, known. The forgotten, remembered. Putting the ignored under the spotlight. Shining light on darkness.

The feeling of entrapment in an endless loop. Without time and space. Just me and thoughts that were born from my over-thinking.

As long as I serve the loop, it will continue its infinite trajectory round and round in my head. So what to do but forsake the loop of thoughts it ever so craves and needs and to break my perverse habit to fulfil these cravings.

The enemy within, the one acting as a friend. One needs to unmask this intruder. Uncover its real face so my deceived ears can see its true form.

I said true form but this intruder has no real face. It takes the form that will be most beneficial for it and most destructive to me because it lives on my fears, anxieties — my dark side.

Its aim is to rid my world of all light so darkness can rule my inner-self. No love, hope, joy, laughter. Just a fear for the non-existent future or regret for the past.

My only rescue plan is to stop feeding the enemy with my own hands. Starve it to death. That is the only way to save myself.

Once it’s starved, light will start to filter in through the cracks and slowly, I will feel something warm. This is my insides healing. Ridding itself of all poison created by over-thinking.

Thankfully I know what to do to make a home for light so it stays. I have been doing it for a long time now only for the wrong side. The dark side.

Only then will light grow roots, get stronger and bigger. Day-by-day it will hold a bigger space in me until I cannot hold it in anymore and have to let it go.

And thus a new cycle will begin. A cycle where I continously fill up with light so strong that I share it with others so it doesn’t blind me.

Let the light inside you light the way for those who are still in the dark.

The light will set us free.

--

--