The One Habit that Guarantees Financial Freedom

How shifting your decision-making can shape your financial future

Matty
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readNov 22, 2022

--

Cold hard cash
Photo by Celyn Kang on Unsplash

I am a product person. By that I mean if I’m going to buy a webcam, I don’t want any webcam.

I want THE BEST webcam on the market. Why not get the best product? Yeah, it’ll cost a little more. But it’ll be the highest quality, it’ll come in the nicest box, and I can always rest easy knowing I have THE top-of-the-line webcam.

Well, I can rest easy for 6 months. Until the new top-of-the-line webcam comes out.

Logitech webcam
Photo by Emiliano Cicero on Unsplash

And that's the fundamental problem with being the person who needs the best of everything. It makes keeping up with the trends a full-time job. Not to mention, the trends are VERY EXPENSIVE.

You can easily pay $250 dollars for the nicest webcam. It has everything you need. It has 4K video resolution, it’ll follow you as you walk around the room, and it works beautifully in low light.

Or…

You can pay $30 for a 1080p webcam that works great.

That’s a $220 DIFFERENCE.

Now think, do you NEED the 4K camera? How often are you walking around your room on Zoom calls with all the lights off?

The bells and whistles are nice, but the marginal difference in value is negligible. They both work equally well at their core task of recording video.

So, why am I ranting about webcams?

Don’t buy expensive stuff unless you NEED it

Anytime you shop, companies are relentlessly trying to get you to move up the price ladder. You are berated by YouTubers, marketers, and salespeople, all encouraging you to pay the extra $20 for another unnecessary feature.

Of course, the most expensive product does the most and looks the nicest. But does it really offer you more value than the money you’d save?

Sale Sign
Photo by Ashkan Forouzani on Unsplash

Now, here’s the real savings hack…

Now ask yourself, does your laptop already have a webcam? Can you use your phone camera? Why do you NEED a webcam? Are you being hugely inconvenienced in your life? Is this new webcam actually going to make you more money? Is it going to make you happier?

It’s incredibly easy to convince yourself that you need something. I feel qualified to write about this because I used to do this ALL THE TIME.

The more money I made, the more stuff I needed, and the more comfortable I was buying stuff as a hobby.

Was I a shopaholic? Hahaha, probably yes. Am I today, I hope not!

I’ve saved more money in my 1 year of simply buying less than I saved in my entire life prior.

And guess what? I’m happier as a result. For the first time in my life, I have a financial safety blanket and ease of mind I’ve never had before.

--

--

Matty
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Top 5 Youtube Viewer 🏆 | 2X PTO Prince 🫅 | Full-Time Crypto Solopreneuar World Wide CEO | A son, brother, child, & sibling wirting about humanity.