What I Learned From Comments That Disagreed With The Tone Of My Article

Séverin Makengo
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
2 min readFeb 14, 2023

On January 25, I published an article that sounded different from what was in my mind about that topic.

Here is the picture of the article:

My last story’s picture

What was in my brain?

  • Presenting a list of 7 comments that may make you appear like a spammer if you post them often.

But how my article sounded

🤷‍♂️It sounded like authors always complain about brief comments.

How feedback helped me see where I went wrong

🤦‍♀️Almost 1/5 of the comments disagreed with the tone of my articles.

This enabled me to re-examine my text and determine the source of the disagreements.

🙏🏼 “Thank you, God”; I saw the difference between what was in my brain and what I wrote.

What I did to correct my mistake

I changed the first sentence

The sentence was, I’m talking about comments that upset most writers.

✂ And I changed it to "I’m talking about comments that may make you appear like a spammer."

Thus, all the problem was on the first sentence.

What I learned from that experience

  1. Always check to see if your writing accurately reflects your thoughts before publishing.

2. Feedbacks are good; they have the energy to help you progress.

Read Next

Medium advice

--

--

Séverin Makengo
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

DON'T TRUST ME, JUST READ AND FORM YOUR OWN OPINION (Twitter: @Severinmakengo).