INSPIRATION/MENTAL HEALTH

The Power of a Smile

Smiles possess tremendous power and can uplift you in an instant

B.R. Shenoy
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
4 min readMay 11, 2021

--

Woman looking into mirror and smiling
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

“Every time you smile at someone, it is an action of love, a gift to that person, a beautiful thing.” — Mother Teresa

A smile. How does it wield so much power?

A smile can transform a drab day into a sunny day. My spirits are immediately lifted by a smile.

It warms my heart and brightens my day when someone smiles at me, even if that person is only a stranger I encounter in the course of my day. I immediately feel a connection to that human being. I feel good vibes from the person.

When I am feeling blue, a smile from someone else can cheer me up. When I am already happy, a smile only serves to further enhance my mood.

Smile emoji GIF
Giphy.com

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, I genuinely miss seeing the smiles on people’s faces when I…

--

--

B.R. Shenoy
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Avid Globetrotter• Expat on 3 Continents•12x Boosted Writer•Editor:The Shortform• NewsBreak Writer•https://brshenoy.substack.com•M.S. Toxicology •Proud Mom of 2