Explore Your Whimsy

The Power Of The Ent In Lord Of The Rings

A Reminder From Fangorn Forest To Just Be-Part 1 of 3

Aslynn Roe šŸˆ
ILLUMINATIONā€™S MIRROR
5 min readJul 14, 2023

--

Walking among the woods cleanses my soul and helps put perspective on my troubles. Recently I found this guy, my own personal Shepherd of the Forest, to keep me company and remind me everything is going to be OK.

J. R. R. Tolkien wrote the Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings fantasy books in 1920, after he returned from incredible horrors of war. He had lost his boyhood innocence and many dear friends during the war. Many Tolkien experts believe writing these fantasy tales about friendships, war and redemption helped him deal with his post traumatic stress disorder.

For those of you who have neglected your whimsey and never read Lord of the Rings, here is a very quick synopsis. In the Hobbit, Bilbo Baggins becomes a unlikely hero as he is asked to help Dwarves steal back their gold from a dragon. While on his quest, he finds a magic ring. In Lord of the Rings, his nephew Frodo takes up the quest to destroy the magicā€¦

--

--

Aslynn Roe šŸˆ
ILLUMINATIONā€™S MIRROR

I am a listener of culture, history, media, and politics. Follow me, and we will go somewhere. Finding out where is half the fun!