Photo by Edgar Chaparro on Unsplash

The Uncommon Workout That Made Me Jacked

Bode3161
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
2 min readAug 25, 2023

--

Do you work out?

If so, have you ever found yourself distracted at the gym?

What was supposed to be 10 seconds turned into 10 minutes of “switching the song” on your phone.

The mounted TVs seem to display shows more relevant than your final set of curls.

Or, perhaps you’re too distracted by your thoughts.

I should get a burger after this, I deserve it.”

My point is that the overwhelming majority of people are distracted when working out.

This results in less focus and, therefore less gains.

Recently, though, I’ve discovered a style of workout that always has me on my toes.

There are no windows for distraction — only gains.

The workout style that I want to introduce to you is called:

Reps on the minute

This works for both bodyweight and weightlifting exercises.

Let’s discuss why you should try this.

It’s Exactly What it Sounds Like

This style of workout, as the name implies, calls for reps on the minute.

This sounds intimidating at first.

Though, this is why you can choose how many reps to do each minute.

You must set something realistic.

In my case, I did 4 pull-ups and 4 dips on the minute for 20 minutes. This adds up to 80 pull-ups and 80 dips.

Had I done sets of 10 like normal, I would’ve taken much longer.

As I said, the beauty of doing reps on the minute comes from how it keeps you focused.

There is no time to be distracted by thoughts, or your phone.

Photo by Nubelson Fernandes on Unsplash

The single worst mistake you can make is underestimating your capability. For example, if I did 2 pull-ups and dips rather than 4, I would have taken 40 minutes compared to just 20.

It doesn’t matter if you decide to do push-ups, pull-ups, squats, burpees, whatever — you can do practically anything.

Try it Out

If you’re someone who’s been searching for a new, fun, and challenging style of exercise, then this one meets all those expectations.

Remember, don’t overdo it. Select an optimal amount of reps for each minute, so that you too can last at least 15–20 sets.

I hope you’ll consider trying.

I’ll see you in the next article.

--

--