These were the three main checklists I focused on when I visited Kolkata in December 2022.

sudeshna karkun
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
4 min readAug 29, 2023

I hail from Kolkata and make it a point to visit the city once a year. During my visits, I relish the delectable cuisine that the city has to offer. Known as the “city of joy,” the place has a unique charm with its bus rides, tram rides, and yellow taxis. Though I visit because of my family, I also enjoy the city’s visit, especially during the chilly December winters.

Let’s highlight the three checklists about the City :-

The Food Culture

Kolkata is famous for its yummy Bengali cuisine. You will satiate your taste buds by asking for more !! The things that I enjoy the most are fish curry and mutton biryani. I always have these two dishes, as a bucket list checker.

Picture taken by the author,Sudeshna Karkun

During the period of 1920–1950, Pice hotels were a popular gathering place for migrant workers. They provided affordable accommodations and meals for social reformers and laborers. For just one Pice, which was a currency used in pre-independence India, people could enjoy unlimited servings of vegetarian and non-vegetarian meals. I recently visited one of these Pice hotels and had a delicious meal consisting of mutton curry, a vegetable gravy, and rice and dal. However, nowadays, the number of servings is monitored and limited.

Picture taken by the author,Sudeshna Karkun

Another place that I went to was Suchali’s Artisan Bakehouse Cafe. It is a newly constructed cafe spacious enough for sipping a cup of tea while reading books. I had a chicken croissant, as they are famous for baking their bread for pizzas, croissants, and bread. You won’t get bored as the collection of books is vast along with tempting delicacies.

Picture taken by the author,Sudeshna Karkun

Decker’s lane

As the name goes by, it is not difficult to locate this place situated next to Esplanade. The place is a one-lane road. The lane is packed with open stalls selling tea, chicken stew, bread butter, noodles, and chicken lollypop. I had the special chicken stew with bread butter, a specialty of the stalls here. The history of Decker’s Lane dates back 200 years when this place used to be a social hub for the sailors. This place got its name after Philip Milner Dacres, who was the collector of Calcutta once. Decker’s Lane still carries its legacy in palate-satisfying dishes and a hangout zone for office-goers after work.

Christmas at Kolkata

On December 25th, I made sure to attend thelighting of Park Street. During this time, the buildings, trees, and lanes are illuminated, creating a beautiful sight. Although it can be challenging to navigate through the crowd, the experience is worth it. Booking a restaurant in advance is necessary, as the entire population of Kolkata gathers here to celebrate Christmas with their families.

College Street

I went to a place called College Street, which is famously known as Boi Para in Bengali. The place is famous for buying books on any genre, or language. The old books are resold and new books are also available. I loved the rusty smell of the books through the interconnected lanes of college street lined with books stores and I spent one complete day roaming there. The place was established in 1817 by David Hare.

Penning down the memoirs of my visit is taking me back to Kolkata again. I again plan to visit there in December this year with more new delicacies to catch on to and new places to visit. If you visit Kolkata anytime soon, try these foods and places.

--

--

sudeshna karkun
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Hello!!I am Sudeshna Karkun.I am an avid traveler, an enthusiastic blogger. I love to play with my dog and run in my free time .