HOW I’m Getting 1500+ Claps on Medium(even as a new writer)

Clapping for Attention:

Manish Dangi
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readMar 20, 2024

--

Photo by Codioful (Formerly Gradienta) on Unsplash

Alright, let me tell you a little story about my journey as a writer on Medium. 📚

You see, when I first started out, I was totally clueless about this thing called the “Clap System.” But did I learn quick!

Image: Author Stories Stats

It’s basically how us writers gauge if our stories are resonating with readers or not. Like, every story can get up to 50 claps from people. Crazy, right? 😮

Some of my stories have gotten thousands of claps! 🙌 It’s honestly such a good way to understand your audience and tailor your future content to their interests.

How I Get 1.5K Claps on Medium Stories?

Image: Author Stories Stats

Now, engagement is everything on Medium.

A lot of writers actually quit within their first month because they don’t feel that sense of community.😔

So leaving thoughtful comments, building connections — that’s crucial for keeping writers motivated and sticking around.

Oh, and let me give you a little pro tip:

engaging authentically is gonna do wonders for your visibility and follower count...

More eyeballs on your work? YES PLEASE! 👀

I’d like to think I’ve got a decent handle on this whole engagement thing.

I mean, I’ve got 2.2K followers and I write for this dope publication called ‘SYNERGY’ Not too shabby, eh? 😏

Plus, I’ve managed to establish myself as somewhat of an authority figure in the Medium community.

People actually value my opinion and all that jazz. Kinda cool, right?

Anyway, I could go on and on about all the other awesome features Medium offers — like team collaboration, the help section, and stay updated through their blog.

But I’ll save that for another story.

For now, just remember: mastering that Clap System is key to gauging reader engagement and cultivating a loyal following.

So keep engaging, keep writing, and keep putting yourself out there. Your writing journey is just getting started! 💫

Photo by Lina Trochez on Unsplash

Here are three ways you can help me out:

  1. Drop me a follow Manish Dangi
  2. Leave an appreciation and a comment if you enjoyed
  3. Join my publication(accepting new writers)

--

--