When The Predator Becomes The Prey

James McDonald
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
1 min readOct 23, 2023
Image created by the author James McDonald using OpenArt

Standing in a garden of paradise
My eyes beheld a rose

Its thorns invisible to my gaze
The succulent flowers flung me in a craze

As my strides pulled me closer
“How radiant would my world become?”
I began to ponder

Reaching with words to feel its splendor
It swayed as though it sensed a predator

Again and again my voice tried to enter
Clearly this garden had a great defender

I left the scene in pure displeasure
And planned a way to future conquer

The weeks brought my plans together
And soon the rose was mine to pamper

Oh my!
The thorns began to conquer
With succulence evaporating as the clock ticked over

Poking thorns bled me green
A pain like which I had never seen

Roses like which I saw only in a dream
Now took over my entire team

With my blood watering their roots
I withered away:- unable to fill my boots

--

--

James McDonald
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

I provide cutting edge solutions for Wellness Optimization and Enterprise Risk Management. BUT I get a lot more interesting when you check out my poetry