When You See Me

A Poem

Aniyah
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
2 min readJan 19, 2024

--

Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

Focus, get into focus

The spirit of yesteryears haunts him

He didn’t hear her coughing in the late-night hours

As the disease slowly ravaged her weak body

He said you will be fine

Just take it one day at a time

Until one day, she wasn’t

She hovered over him, taking medicine to try to heal the disease

But not even medicine could fix this

She flies to the hospital room and sees herself lying there

Still, quiet, oh so very quiet

But she’s free from pain, free from sorrow

Agony

Torture

Rest

However

She looks on and sees the pain her departure has caused

Guilt

Grief

Words unspoken that only she can hear

“Why didn’t I see you”?

Through sobs and pain

She knew she couldn’t stay away

She had to go back

She fought against herself

But my spirit is free

No more tears for me

But she couldn’t bear to see the tears in them

So she returns, only to repeat the cycle again

Hoping that one day, she will be seen

This is not my usual type of poetry. I just decided to go with the flow and see where it ends up. Alot of times, we take life for granted, so now it’s time for us to live in the present. Being present is what heals and can help us see things that we never seen before.

We can experience life even amid the storm. I had to learn how to do this. I haven’t gotten the lesson altogether, but I’m getting there one day at a time. I hope you enjoyed this piece and remember to be present forever. See you 👋🏼

--

--

Aniyah
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

I believe writing can heal the soul from emotional trauma