Why I Don’t Want To Be In 9–5.

Shalini Srivastav 🦄
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readApr 16, 2024

Accepting the truth of life.

Photo by Magnet.me on Unsplash

After completing my graduation, I was clueless abt life. You know things happen out of blue without giving warning. I wanted to do masters from a very good college but i couldn’t, for some reason. I started looking for jobs online and offline. Started looking for internship (although i wasn’t so intrested in it).

Like any other normal middle-class child, I wanted to become independent girl and have my own business or be an entrepreneur in my life, but you know things changes when you grow up, we dream in our childhood, but it doesn’t necessarily happens. Now, I know what you’ll say — you have to be determined for your dreams but still you don’t know what life can brings you. Right?

Life is the definition of uncertainty.

I was looking for jobs but couldn’t find it. So, I started working on myself, on my skills to get a job.

I was not good in English which is necessary to be in job.

So, I started working on my English.

  • I was practicing English speaking for the interview.
  • I was practicing for writing.
  • I install apps and was watching videos to improve my English.

I didn’t have enough skills.

So, I learned skills. I started looking at different courses which can help me in learning skills.

  • Digital marketing.
  • Social media marketing.
  • Copywriting.

(That was the reason i started learning skills).

I didn’t have experience.

So, I started looking for internships to get experience.

  • I was looking for different websites.
  • I was looking for different videos.
  • I was looking into different scholarships.

But, a part of me was still not ready to get into jobs. Why?

Bcz I want to fulfill my father’s dream and I know that it can’t happen with jobs and I’ll be only grinding myself in it, day and night, I will curse myself to get into it.

Still, I was applying for jobs (as I say bcz of some circumstances).

I lied in my resume.

I made my resume where I write those lies that were not true at all but everyone does it shamelessly for their circumstances similarly as I was facing.

But, things changed again (didn’t expect but i guess God was with me), and now I’m working on myself and on my dream.

The good part of those days was that they helped me learn some skills that are now helping me to work on my dreams. Before, I was in so much confusion, wandering here and there.

Now, I can accept my flaws and don’t have to lie in my resume.

But, hold on… Did i told you abt those lie? No?

Here they’re… I’m sure, you might feel relatable cz it’s so common lies for getting jobs.

I’m a slow learner.

But, they write about being “QUICK LEARNER”. I mean you have to learn and adapt as quickly as possible like a superhero. How it’s Possible to do that?

Sounds relatable? Have you lied too? Busted… Lol. It’s not your fault everyone does it.

I take time to learn things and now I’ve seen people accepting it as a good thing.

Why?

Bcz, things need to be absorbed naturally in your mind. Right?

Remember this:

“A valuable skills takes time to learn that’s why they are valuable”.

I’m not a perfectionist.

They want you to be multitasker and have perfection too… Mistakes are not allowed.

Girls usually are perfectionist (atleast it is assumed by everyone) and I am not.

I’m a damn lazy.

I’m not a multitasker.

I can’t handle pressure (except for my future).

Yes, I can’t handle pressure and there were some guidelines in job applications where they talk about someone who can handle pressure but why is it necessary?

You know when you follow your guts and do what it say — it will take you to a place that you always dreamed of, and your heart will not curse you too. Haha..

Ik money is important and I was running after it.

I was under peer pressure too.

Now, I don’t care what they say and yes money is important (no need to lie) but not at the cost of your mental health and sacrificing your dreams.

I hope you find your dreams too…

THANKS for reading.

--

--

Shalini Srivastav 🦄
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Hi there! Thanks for being here. Read my content and if you like do follow.