Why I Use Single-Use Plastic Bags

But I don’t let them get into the waterways

Tony Bapuji
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
2 min readFeb 15, 2024

--

Swans on the River Thames, Kingston, Surrey UK
Author’s Image

The consensus is not to use single-use plastic bags. They’re bad for the environment.

Well, I use single-use plastic bags. But I haven’t got any new ones for years. I’ve had old ones lying around and I keep reusing them. Until they fall apart.

Yes. I know. This is beginning to sound like one of those “Oh look at me, I’m so good “ posts. Sorry. Call me out.

The truth is, if you take care of them, you can get a lot of mileage from them.

I have one slightly stronger than normal single-use bag from the supermarket. I’ve managed to get over 50 uses from it so far. And it’s still going strong.

A plastic supermarket carrier bag which has been used over 50 times and still going strong!
Author’s Image

Be prudent.
Of course, you should check the condition of it to make sure it’s not about to fall apart. Then you’ll lose the contents.
When it is about to fall apart then you should recycle it under local recycling regulations.

Reuse, Recycle, Repair, or Replace — what are my options?

With items in general you can do a combination of all of these. By reusing something you save the energy needed for recycling. When an item is wearing out, and can no longer be used then you can repair it.

Sometimes an item costs more to repair than replace, unfortunately. Then you would need to replace it. You could replace it with a second-hand, reconditioned item. Or, you might decide that you no longer need it anyway. And not replace at all.

Is it still fit for purpose?

But it seems that some people have taken reuse to the extreme. Look at this excuse for a plastic bag.

Author’s Image

Well, it was once a plastic bag. Now it’s become a plastic sheet with holes!

However, it still fits the purpose. It can still be used to wrap things — after a fashion!

What things do you reuse before recycling?

--

--